Do downvotes generate curation rewards?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Do downvotes generate curation rewards?


Downvotes are free

Since HF21, downvotes do not consume voting power. Whales won't loose mana (money) now when flagging. It is not anymore a missed opportunity to monetize the mana.

So whales are now downvoting generously all accross Steem because they are not penalized doing negative curation.

Reducing other users post value will increase all other posts value, including these from the flagger who will get a better payout on his posts.

Do downvotes generate curation rewards? What do you think about it?


Image source


  • No, all these flags are ethic and for the sake of Steem

  • Yes, downvotes will reduce other users pie part

  • Yes, additionnaly, downvotes will directly generate curation rewards

  • I don't know

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I don't know

$trendotoken

Congratulations @outlinez, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @droida!
@droida will receive 0.01447200 TRDO & @outlinez will get 0.00964800 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you :)

Voted for

  • I don't know

While I have my opinion about downvotes in general, I sincerely don't know what is actually going on. I do quite a bit of reading, too, and so far, I haven't seen anyone actually be able to come up with data as to what is happening when downvotes occur.

I would actually like to know where the returned rewards are going, and whether or not it really makes all that much of a difference.

One point of clarity (someone may have already said this), but to my knowledge, not all downvotes are free (not yet). I believe the mount is 2.5 downvotes a day (why 2.5, I don't know), so if there's more downvotes going on in a day, it does affect the voting power or mana of anyone, just like upvoting does.

The right answer is Yes, downvotes will reduce other users pie part

@crokkon wrote a good explanation about it https://steempeak.com/steem/@crokkon/the-steem-downvote-pool-explained

since downvotes reduce the total sum of active rshares, they indirectly increase the payout of all other posts and comments, and this affects authors and curators.

Oh, I have no doubt some sort of redistribution is going on. I'm just not certain that it's quantifiable, so we can say downvotes are actually doing what they're intended to do. There is definitely some reduction of reward allocation going on, along with reallocation of said rewards to others.

Voted for

  • I don't know

Voted for

  • I don't know

Voted for

  • I don't know

Voted for

  • Yes, additionnaly, downvotes will directly generate curation rewards

Voted for

  • I don't know

Voted for

  • I don't know

Voted for

  • I don't know

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14