Do you grow? All about the Hot Peppers

in #doyougrow6 years ago (edited)

Is it too early to think about starting seeds in January? I mean, it is practically February already. If you ask me, the answer is no! This is when I start our capsicum annuum or hot peppers.

A sweet baby scotch bonnet pepper seedling
Screenshot_20180121-142058.jpg

We grow hot peppers to make Master Tonic, fermented hot sauces, spices and to sell at market. I am not a huge fan of spicy foods, but I consider these to be of medicinal value so it is an important crop to us.

Some of last year's hot peppers that I had frozen. They freeze like a dream....
Screenshot_20180121-190139.jpg

Growing your own hot peppers from seed is super rewarding. There isn't always the best selection of hot pepper plants available at plant nurseries, but the available seed selection for them is astounding! As hot pepper popularity is exploding, so are the varieties. The hardest part in my opinion is choosing which hot peppers you are going to grow!

Screenshot_20180121-185959.jpg

Screenshot_20180121-142628.jpg

Where we live makes it hard to successfully grow hot peppers as they are heat loving plants. We are in zone 5b and the last 2 years the growing season has been unpredictable. This year I will be growing our peppers in the greenhouse to see if I can get a better yeild! I have found by starting the peppers so early, the plants already have a first flush of flowers by the time I transplant them to the garden. This has (for the most part) enabled me to get 2 full harvests out of most varieties of peppers before the frost.

Pepper plant in the grow room right before transplanting to the garden
Screenshot_20180121-142443.jpg

Basically, when you start your hot peppers depends on the variety you are growing. "Pepper time" works sort of like this:

Sweeter, milder hots like Hungarians and banana peppers that need 75-80 days to mature
Medium heat peppers like cayennes need 80-90 days to mature
Super hots and ornamentals like habaneros, scotch bonnets and Chinese lanterns can take up to 110 days to mature

Hot peppers (capsicum annuum) can be tricky to start, and can take 1-4 weeks for seedlings to emerge. Here are a few tips to help you successfully germinate those precious seeds!

Soak your seeds overnight to soften the shell casing. This gives the seeds a head start, helping the tap root to break through the seed's shell.

Set up your dishes to soak the seeds making sure you label them!
20180121_150829.jpg

Most of them will float at first
20180121_091057.jpg

Seeds starting their 24 hour soak
20180121_091049.jpg

Pepper seeds love heat from seed to harvest. While germinating you want to keep them at around 80 degrees. A heat mat is best, but the top of the fridge would do. If you cannot supply heat, it may take much longer to see sprouting.
I use seedling starter trays to start most of my seeds. I then "plant up" once or twice to bigger cells/pots before they finally go to the garden in the spring.
Peppers require no light to germinate so that saves space under your lights.

For info on seed starting mix, check out my previous blog here:
https://steemit.com/doyougrow/@karenfoster/do-you-grow-starting-with-seed-starting-mix-and-the-right-water

Fill seedling starter trays three quarters full of damp seed starting mix and drop 2-3 seeds in each cell. I do 2 because I am working with a little amount of seeds. Cover the seeds about a 1/4" deep. Press soil gently to settle the seeds in.

20180121_195436.jpg

Press down firmly and then add more starting mix to fill to the 3/4 full mark
20180121_195533.jpg

I am doing 2 seeds per cell
20180121_195752.jpg

Spray or lightly water. You want to keep the seeds damp, not soaking throughout germination. Do not let the seeds dry out at any point during germination!
Use a dome or plastic wrap to cover your seedling tray, removing it for about 10 min a day to get some air circulation to prevent mold. You want to see condensation on the dome while it's on, this is good.

Tray filled and misted. Ready for the heat mat
20180121_200234.jpg

Heating mat row
Screenshot_20180121-200133.jpg

Now we wait. Be patient! Just make sure they have heat and moisture throughout and you will see sprouts in no time.

I have a small grow tent and lights I use to start our seedlings. A lot of home gardeners have small set ups with a few fluorescent lights and a fan. If not, find a good and warm sunny windowsill. Seedlings prefer at least 8 hours of sunlight, the more the better. I have ours on an 18/6 timer.

First set of leaves
Screenshot_20180121-141757.jpg

Second set or first "true leaves"
Screenshot_20180121-141816.jpg

Final transplant to 4" pots where they will grow for about 5 weeks before going out to harden off
Screenshot_20180121-185643.jpg

Screenshot_20180121-185504.jpg

As they develop their first set of leaves I will cull the weakest one with scissors. I replant to a larger cell after they have developed their second set of leaves. Remember to keep a fan on your seedlings, this will slow down its growth and make its stem thicker and studier. This mimics the outdoors and makes for a much stronger plant. Once you have healthy seedlings you're ready for the transplant and growing phase, then the harvesting phase, and finally my favorite, the cooking and preserving phase!

Finally in the garden!
Screenshot_20180121-185836.jpg

I would love to know....#doyougrow hot peppers? Let me hear your advise or pepper dreams!

Thank you for reading! Take care of you and yours ❤

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! The Sotall Community has linked to your post here.. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

Oh wow! Thank you, I did not know about #Sotall
I just went over quickly and checked it out, I will spend time learning about the community and the peeps in it. Thank you for the link <3

Most people don't know about it yet. We are only about 2 weeks old, so we are still just really getting started. The quickest way to get a post added is submitting it on the website. But if you use the sotall tag, I will find it quickly too as I try to check the tag at least once every day or two.

I love Steemit and it is such a BIG help to people. But after 8 days, it is very hard to find posts. The directory helps us keep the posts people need the most all in one place so people will always be able to find them.

When I started following you on Facebook this is what I wanted to see, SO MUCH. I wanted to pm you and have you give me this exact guide. So happy to have steemit and be following you here!! I can't wait to refer to your guides this growing season, I'm so freaking excited!!! Thank you Karen. Sooooo much <3<3<3

Awwww @amymya I am so happy it is info you can use!! It just so happens that I am sending you and Lynds these exact hot pepper seeds to share because I accidentally ordered 2 packs of each 😂 #hotmess
I plan on blogging pretty much everything plant related this season! Always feel free to PM me with any questions, I could try to help! <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much! Can't wait for those seeds xoxo!!!
I'll be watching your posts intently :)

Do you need any more tomato seeds while I'm at it? <3

I think Istill have lots of the original ones you sent :) But if you remember any varieties you didn't send last year, I'd love to try them <3

pure and totally natural, I am going to do seedling of peppers too
wish me luck !!!

That is great!! Good luck and keep me posted with your progress @pennystockhelp!

Awesome, I'm so so so happy it's beginning!!! oxxoxoxo

Thank you for the support with it <3 xoxoxoxo
Yay for growing!!!!

I'm very happy to find someone else in Steemit to share my passion of hot peppers too!
And yes... It's already late to start new plants! Hehe... Not at all, but I already have some indoor plants, started about two months ago.
Just germinated some Chocolate 7 Pot plants, and I have already Carolina Reapers and Yellow Moruga Scorpions doing great.
I'll be happy to follow you and read your contents!

I love your hydro peppers! Keep posting about your progress, it is great:)

love the food you are growing karen thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist
(My latest artwork is "Government")

Thank you @harj
I went to your blog, beautiful artwork <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98