Opal on Safe Spaces

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago

It's warm. And safe. Nobody can see me.

I don't think I'm allowed here but this can just be our secret okay? It's not my fault Mom and Dad left the door open as they were making all sorts of noises while cooking and cleaning.

Now all I can do is shiver in my spot and wait for the chaos to finish. Normally I would bark at the noise but I'm pretty low on energy having already barked at enough noises today.

Why am I so afraid of the sharp noises? Well, it's the danger of the unknown. There are far too many sounds that I just cannot understand or recognize. But I've made some progress when it comes to that.

Once I was afraid of a loud, round and very short whirring machine. Most of the time it was quiet but just as I would be starting my beauty rest, I would hear the melodic tones of terror announcing that it would soon be awake. It then proceeded to move around haphazardly, bumping into everything possible, even tapping my food and water bowls. Terrible demon.

Over time, I realized that it did nothing but make obnoxious sounds until it returned to its perch to sleep. It would leave me alone if I kept my distance. My one triumph in life, recognising one noise. I think I can take it easy now, and just bark at every other noise. Or hide.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

aww she is just the sweetest girl and what a lovely blankie she has too.. she is the funnniest with the sounds and barks.

You said it!

But, how do you know she's under the blanket? You can't see her :O

But she's invisible!!!! How! Super hidden. If she can't see us, we can't see her.

Is that loud, round and very short whirring machine one of those little cleaning disks that just walk around the room vacuuming it up? I didn't know they were noisy. Then again, I've only seen them in science fiction films. 😂😂😂

Yes it is one of those things. Pretty good for pet hair for the amount of effort involved for the human haha

Nice blankie ❤ oh you catch wonderful memory ❤ love your style.

Thanks! Opal is very sweet.

Some dogs are skittish and get scared by sounds and others just take it in their stride. Opal sounds like one of those and nothing much bugs him.

My aunt used to chase her dog with a plastic bag when it misbehaved. The dog was terrified of the noise plastic bags make.

Just the nose :)

Touch is the first sense the dog develops. The entire body, including the paws, is covered with touch-sensitive nerve endings.

Hmmm, isn't that the same with any other mammal, though?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.802 which ranks you at #1340 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 231 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25