Playing like a fighter - fighting like a player

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago

I love to play with my toys

When it comes to playing with my toys I really prefer that somebody is playing together with me. It can be a human or another dog. Sometimes, I also play on my own, but that is not as exciting as having someone involved.

DSC_6699.JPG
click photo for full view

What you might already know if you read my other posts: I'm different

When I want to challenge someone to play with me, I take my favorite toy, walk to that person or dog and start growling.
Yes, I growl like other dogs do when they are angry.
If you don't know me you might misunderstand that but that's my way to get your attention.
And you know what? It always works! If the human I'm growling at does not react, my big brother Snoop will!

I think he also does not understand what I really want to say

Instead of "Come, play with me!" he hears "Play with me or I'll kill you" and thinks he must play the big boss protecting my humans by rebuking me.

DSC_4845.JPG
click photo for full view

Snoop is a little weird anyway

You can show him any toy you want - he is totally uninterested.
We (me and my humans) tried everything. The only thing he does is sniffing if he can eat it and if it's not eatable he will turn his head away.
How can you resist a ball?!? Impossible for me!!!
I can even play with something that has been a ball (before I saw it 😇).
But then Snoop comes in again and tells me to stop. It almost looks like he does not want me to have fun.

Perhaps he thinks: "Big boys don't play!"

DSC_4856.JPG
click photo for full view

Actually, we always had a lot of fun doing these "fights"

The sad part is: these brotherly "fights" are happening less and less. And if they happen, they will only last for some seconds.
My big brother Snoop is getting really old now and appeasement is coming quickly.

DSC_4885.JPG
click photo for full view

I heard my humans talking that they hope, Snoop would make it through the summer

He has a lot of pain - especially when it's warm. He, just like me, loves to lay in the sun. But walking when it's warm must be hell for him.

After our "fights" we are of course peacefully enjoying the rest of the day

We both love to sit down in the sun on the beach. I always try to keep some distance. Not because I don't like to sit next to Snoop but to show some respect and it keeps myself from challenging him right away again.

DSC_6454.JPG
click photo for full view

I also hope, Snoop will stay a little longer

Of course, I love to play wild - but I can do that with Lea, my best friend I told you about in an earlier post.

We know how quick it can happen that Snoop is no longer with us.
I just read a post about my best steemit friends @shepherd-stories.
Lex just crossed the Rainbow Bridge - he was a wonderful buddy.
@hetty-rowan wrote a last letter for him which you can read here: Last Letter to Lexxieboy!
Perhaps you want to show some love and add some consoling words.

I hope, Snoop does not want to follow Lex too soon.

Your Marley 🐕

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!

CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

You can trade your earned credstars for SBD!

Thank you so much @kaliju!!!
This is a real honor for me to be chosen.

CU around,
Marley 🐕

Oh Marley boy, I really hope for you and for your humans that Snoop will stay with you all for a long time ... Missing someone you love is terrible. When I think of Lex my eyes are tearing up, even though I know we did the best for him, it's still heartbreaking. And when I look at the little Myla Mouse, my heart breaks even more. Because she is really having a hard time ... she and Lex did everything together.

So enjoy your big brother for as long as you can and don't let him cross the rainbowbridge too soon!

Big hug for you and Snoop and for your humans!

Thanks for your warm words @hetty-rowan.
I hope you and the rest of your family will feel better soon again.
Hug you all,
Marley 🐕

Hello @dog-marley!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 18 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Thank you so much again @supernovastaffy!!!

CU, Marley 🐕

That last photo really wound me up, reminding me of my two RR's Rex and Jodi. Snoop is Rex's double (AKA big Red), Marley is Jodi to a T with little squinted eyes, she was more blonde. The nature in both so similar it is astounding to see Snoop with his paw on Marley being more dominant in play, wow found memories sweeping over me @dog-marley

Rainbow bridge comes too quickly in our best friends short lives, no matter which breed I have always felt empty, each has such unique ways into our hearts.

Thank very much for stopping by and your nice comment @joanstewart.
I love to hear stories from other dogs and I'm glad you liked my story.

CU around, Marley 🐕

Congratulations @dog-marley! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65650.34
ETH 2646.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87