A tragic joke that is also so very true about dogs

in #dogs2 years ago

Just like most people, I exchange messages and photos with people in various chat groups. Most of the people are also pet lovers like me because we all tend to gravitate towards like-minded people. One of my friends sent me this very tragic story that of course is fiction but there is so much truth reflected inside about pet ownership.


photo_2022-06-20_13-25-22.jpg

While not a real story and it was originally posted on a joke site as far as I know the irony inside of this story is something that I have experienced many times in my life and it, just like the story suggests, is one of life's greatest pains that many people have gone great lengths to try to prevent or at least delay as long as possible.

When adopting a pet or getting a puppy, this is something that folks out there need to mentally prepare themselves for. In all likelihood you are definitely going to outlive your beloved pet and when that time comes, some very difficult choices are going to have to be made and eventually your best friend of so many years that has depended on you and you on it, well your friend is going to be gone.

People handle this in different ways but I recall the time when my last dog, back when I had only 1, was on death's door for about 6 months. We went to bed every night wondering if tomorrow was going to be her last and while I tried to keep her as comfortable as possible, eventually the health problems were too much and her life wasn't much of a life at all. I had to make that choice that ill-fated day that sticks in my mind too this day and likely always will be with me.

I buried her myself in my backyard after the process and my daily life was pretty difficult to carry on with because so much of it was different now. The routine of waking up and looking after my furry Golden Retriever friend for the first hour of every morning was no longer something that I had to do. All of the things that I had previously considered a nuisance such as the shedding, wanting to play with me when I was in the middle of something, and constantly begging for food were things that I would give anything to experience again.

All of a sudden my house was filled with beds that were not going to be slept in ever again, and toys that would not be chewed on. I would get teared up just looking at the now empty food and water bowl on the floor. After a few days I went to the grieving process and moved these things out of my life. All except for one which is now used by one of my current dogs.

The sadness fades of course, just like any other heartbreak in life but I can identify with what the message above is trying to convey: There isn't much greater heartbreak that a person will have to go through in their life than to deal with the passing of a creature that you have spent the past 10-15 years looking after every single day.

While I think it is obvious, this is something that every potential pet owner needs to mentally prepare themselves for on day 1. It is going to be a tough road towards the end and even tougher once they end has already passed. Even though that is the case and the eventuality is intense sadness and pain it is process that I would gladly go through time and time again because the rewards on the path make dealing with the tragedy at the end so worthwhile.


If you would like to see how you can help out or simply spread the word, please visit our website at

http://krabianimalwelfare.org

21462758_174743779763179_4154543215066704521_n.jpg

Krabi Animal Welfare is a charity run entirely by volunteers and are a registered non-profit organization in Thailand and the U.K.. We aim to relieve the pain and suffering of dogs and cats within Krabi Province.

เป็นผู้สนับสนุนรายเดือนหรือบริจาคครั้งเดียวได้ที่:

http://krabianimalwelfare.org


Sort:  

Each creatures has its own method of life so we must adapt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15