I lost a piece of my heart today...

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

I don't know where to start, you came into my life when I was lonely and needed a friend, You went on to be more than just a pet. You filled the void in my life that was caused by being the only child to my parents. You became the one I could talk to The one I could share my secrets with, the one I knew would be waiting for me when I get back from school, someone I could laugh with, my comforter when I was sad.

It was 15 years ago, I was on my way to the tuition when I found out that my teacher's neighbour's dog had given birth to six puppies a few days ago. So, I rushed to see them(though I went there with no intention to get one home). but, the moment I first laid my eyes on her, I knew I had to get her home, It is often difficult to choose one out of 6 puppies but in this case, it was not. This white little fluffy angel of fur staring at me with those sparkling eyes? you can say it was love at first sight.


Source

I always knew that dogs have a short life span, but never in my wildest dreams I thought that these years would swift pass by. I always thought we had more time. But to my greatest fear, it had to come to an end. Today was the day. My heart hurts, as though I can physically feel the pain in my chest. In my head, i am screaming through the void of space as my body floats through the nothingness. I am sitting at my desk scrolling through my phone looking at our pictures. Words cannot describe how I feel. So I'm just gonna share a poem I remember reading a long time ago.

I lost a treasured friend today
The little dog who used to lay
Her gentle head upon my knee
And shared her silent thoughts with me.

She’ll come no longer to my call
Retrieve no more her favourite ball
A voice far greater than my own
Has called her to his golden throne.

Although my eyes are filled with tears
I thank him for the happy years
He let her spend down here with me
And for her love and loyalty.

When it is time for me to go
And join her there, this much I know
I shall not fear the transient dark
For she will greet me with a bark.

I Miss You Fluffy

Sort:  

I have never lost a dog, but I almost did. A vet told me my dog most certainly had cancer and months to live (and turned out he was wrong). I actually just wrote a piece about it here:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jessandthesea/i-will-never-be-the-same-because-of-one-horrible-veterinarian-still-the-story-has-a-happy-ending

I just wrote it and came looking for other people's dog stories, because I love them. That's how I happened upon yours.

Anyway, I am so sorry for your loss. I know the connection a person can have with their dog. I have it. My dog is 10, and almost having lost her, that week of agony waiting for the test results when the vet told me not to even get the tests because he was so sure it was a kind of cancer that meant it was over soon, I just know the feeling of that brokenness. My heart is with you <3 Thank you for sharing your story.

Hi Jess. thank you, i hope you dont have to go through such a heart break... enjoy every moment you have with your pet. God bless

Please accept my heartiest condolences for your gem of life.
rain makes us happy but we cannot forget that it makes us wet too.... no one ever can take his place....

Sorry for your loss, I couldn't imagine losing either of my pups.

Thank you... It's heartbreaking :(

Damn it's hard when you lose an old companion like this. It has happened to me, and I expect it to happen several more times in my life. But it's worth the time that they are here.

Yeah @demotruk. But I wish they could stay longer. Ever day that they're with us makes our life so much better.

What a little sweetheart. So sorry for you loss. My cat was my best friend and the one little being I knew I could always talk to and she'd love me no matter what :) I still talk to her 17 years later and I know she's listening :) Fluffy will be listening too.

She was @goldenroom. Thank you and i really do miss her, i should just try talking it would make things better.

I can understand the sadness and appreciation you have for Fluffy. I too am an only child and have been raised by the wolf pack of canines. I have had to witness so many furry friends pass into the light for their next journey. I know how their passing feels. Know that you love her and given her all she needed for this part of her life, and that she was happy to have you by her side. When it is our time to pass on, we will be greeted by our furry friends as we embark on the next journey. Fill your mind with the loving memories you have had with Fluffy, for those are the memories that matter most.

Many blessings and love to your family and you,

Ely Pazur

So true @uplift and thank you for your kind words.

Sorry for ur loss.. Have been through it so know what you feel.. Stay strong

Thanks Varun

I'm so sorry for your loss. Send my best wishes your and Fluffy's way.

Sorry for your loss, dog are wonderful creatures.

I'm so sorry...I know it is hard to lose such a friend (((

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97