My Lovely Girls - Photo Fun Contest - Week 33 – “Dog Photography"

thegirls.jpg
I took the photo under a soft fuzzy blanket while they cuddled together.

One year I begged for a Corgie, but we ended up with these two lovely ladies. They are 100% Chihuahua in every ounce of the word. My mother-in-law raised Chihuahuas and had a couple of extras that I was able to talk Scott adopting. That and the fact that an overzealous vet docked their tails causing them to be unsellable. They were so small and precious, both fitting into Scott's hands at the same time. Our daughter fell in love with the black and tan deciding quickly she looked like a Snickers candy bar in coloring making that the pup's name.

"She cannot be named Snickers!" I said.

"Mother, her name is Snickers! She looks just like a Snickers bar! The dark like chocolate and the beige like the nougat; don't you see it at all?" replied the teenager.

I held the precious pup up in the air and said, "But child, she is a girl and, therefore, she has no nuts making her a Mars Bar if she is to be sweet like candy!"

Disgusted, my daughter grabbed the pup commanded I not be so rude!


18813506_10212952833996474_9135378987945513272_n.jpg
My sweet little girl all cuddled up on my bed. It was her favorite place to be.


All of 8 pounds, Snickers was the smallest dog I have ever owned. I am often amazed that she was not larger because she was extremely food focused. If there was food, there would not be if she had her way. We taught her to give high fives, but it was really just for the treats. If she could have spoken English, she would have told you she only did it for the treats and to make her pet squeal with delight. Yes, she talked often, it was always squeaks, huffs, and growls, but she knew what she was saying even if we didn't quite understand.

18882010_10212926352454452_1161018145317433399_n.jpg
Just days before we lost our sweet girl. She loved being outside in the hammock -on me.


Cordie was much harder to name, but eventually, she was named after Cordelia from Buffy the Vampire Slayer because of the sass and snarl she seems to give me often. She is the perfect example of what a Chihuahua with the perfect proportions, coloring, and gait when she strutted along on walks; except for the docked tail, she was bound for the high esteemed dog shows. Fortunately, I was not interested in anything other than the snuggles and loves she had for us. I don't think Scott would have been happy on the dog show circuit.

30959934208_c82f65df2c_z.jpg
Since we started photography, Cordie finds herself the center of our attention. She could care less.


Our girls traveled with us to many of the places we visited; however, with Texas and Oklahoma being so hot, they were not allowed to go on all of our trips. We did not have the right set up for them to say cool in a hot car so they would stay home with a good friend of ours who loved them as his own. Often Crandall came over just to bring them a treat and pet them. The girls truly loved him as well and would bounce and jump when he walked in the door. He would say there was nothing better than the love of a sweet dog; he was so very right.

12345570_10208046605703833_1107945678709451805_n.jpg
You can see by the smile on Snickers' face and Cordie's readiness to go that they loved to travel as much as we do.


Unfortunately, Snickers became very ill with breast cancer and past away June 2017. She was 13 years old and just as beautiful as the day we received her. We were extremely concerned about her sister, Cordie, because they had never been apart. However, I believe they grieve and miss those who have gone on before them, but I feel they have an understanding that it is all part of life. She was sad for a bit but has not seemed to suffer like some stories I have heard. I have been very relieved by this.

Thank you so much for listening to me ramble about my two fuzzy butt babies. It's always nice to share them.
rensig.png

391872_2552193685039_2138046334_n.jpg
Some fun just because.


Remember, GET OUT and live life outside your box!
gologosm.png



Thank you @penderis for this artwork!


Thank you @enginewitty for this artwork!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SteemTerminalBanner1.jpg

Sort:  

I loved getting to know Snickers and Cordie in this post. So beautiful how you share the story of Snicker’s naming. Charming - absolutely charming. X

Thank you very much. I wish you could have known Snickers. She was such a sweetie. It's funny, she was Andie's dog for three years and then we took her as our very own ever since. However, when Andie would show up, Snickers could have cared less about us! haha. All she wanted was to go home with Andie. Silly dog.
REn

Lmao that last meme was good. My mom told me about a shepherd they had named Snickers. I've heard multiple other friends too with that name, not uncommon. Cordie on the other hand, quite original for a doggie dawg.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that meme. Makes me laugh everytime. Snickers is definitely common, but that was what my daughter insisted. It took us forever to name Cordie.

My daughter @andiekins is now on the blockchain. I'd like you to meet her.

Ren

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 11.07% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Sad to hear about Snickers, she has a lovely story and made me chuckle around her naming too.
I recently found out that Chihuahua have the biggest brains of all dogs 😀 which I love given how small a dog they are.

I had no clue about the brain! I dont know if that gives me hope or worries me. HAHA

cute little dogs, thanks for the entries

snickers face reminds me of my dog Boya I lost earlier this year. the same kind of coloring. They look so cute in the blanket together!

She was such a sweet dog. It had to have been the candy coating! What type of dog wa Boya?

She was a minpin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, we thought for a while when she was a puppy (6weeks-4months) she was not a Chihuahua, but a minpin because the puppies that had their tails cropped were minpins. My sister-in-law took her mini's with my mother-in-law's chihuahua for their check up. She said to crop their tails, but did not specify minis or both.

So sorry about your little one. They are such sweet dogs.
Ren

They are. And they are not cropping min-pin tails that much anymore. Which is good. I don't like that practice at all.

Oh, I hate the cropping. I think it is terrible. Unfortunately, it is still a thing here in Oklahoma. Oklahoma is so freaking backwards.

What a beautiful, heart-tugging story of your gorgeous girls! Our boy is part Chihuahua, part Jack Russell. I'm so sorry to hear Snickers passed, but I'm glad that Cordie (love both names, by the way) is managing without her. Best of luck in the contest!

Thank you. I just love the combination of a Chihuahua and Jack Russel. We had a Jack Russel once and just loved him.
Ren

You're very welcome, Ren. Sandy (our Jack Chi) has been an amazing dog in the three years we've had him. He's a rescue, and he is such a love - I think those two breeds are awesome together. 😊

My favorite thing about Tinker was the fact that he could jump really high. He was a wonderful pet.

Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79