Creature Feature 26, The Swamp Leviathan

in #dnd6 years ago

What do you guys think about these alternate layouts? Opinions on the monster are also welcome.
CF26 Swamp Leviathan 061818 CR17 LANDSCAPE alternate layout 1.png

CF26 Swamp Leviathan 061818 CR17 LANDSCAPE alternate layout 2.png

CF26 Swamp Leviathan layout 061818 CR17.png

Sort:  

Personally, I'd go with the first if I were publishing in a book format, and the second if I were intending this to be a one-page thing.

I think that interspersing the text with the image allows for a more quick association between the creature and the game material, and it also provides more of a feeling of action. I strongly prefer the first layout, with the caveat being that if I had just one creature that I was looking at I'd definitely prefer having it more like the second layout where it's all integrated into one space.

One of the other advantages of the first layout is that you can have other material on the page, if you so desire; for instance, you could have that illustration with the monster, then you could have something like a spawn or a more powerful variant off by itself; if the image doesn't overlap those boxes you send a message to your reader that the illustration doesn't necessarily reflect them, but you can still take advantage of the space to convey an associated group of creatures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88