This is why preperation is important... Learn from my mistake

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Well this morning has been a pretty big failure!

Thumbnail

I thought I had something really cool to show everyone, and ended up trashing my own blog in the process...

I tried to start a live stream on Dlive to show off a game I created over 10 years ago. Downloaded OBS, logged into Dlive, got my stream set up and ready, then didn't realize I needed a server URL from dlive in order for OBS to connect, which I should have.

Then, I couldn't seem to copy the text inside the server URL box, so I got frustrated and ended the stream. There's one post on my blog that pretty much equates to shit, so I try again, hoping I can get it right this time. I copied over what text I could see in the box, but apparently that wasn't enough, and OBS kept connecting and disconnecting until finally I stopped the stream again to assess the situation. Now there are two posts on my blog, just stinking up the place....

3rd time's the charm, right?

I was finally able to grab the whole URL, got the stream to work, but thought that was the least of my problems.

Not even 10 minutes into playing the game, I realize there's a bug that prevents me from making it through the tutorial island, because I didn't do a simple play test before I was like:

"I'ma go live with this, and blow everyone's socks off!" Click click click!

I hadn't opened the files for this game in years, and wasn't sure what I'd encounter. Clearly I had no business sharing it in the manner that was attempted. I'll be making a few gameplay videos, and writing up a detailed post with screenshots of both the game and the code, as that would obviously allow me to show this off in a much more appropriate manner...

I've learned my lesson, and hopefully you can use this mishap to avoid doing the same thing.

My failed live stream is at DLive

Sort:  

Oh nice nice nice! Working on Shattered Dreams again :D. Sucks the stream didn't go as planned. I got a bit aggravated myself couple weeks ago with the URL too. Had the same issue with the copying. But I had finally got it lol. Since the internet got fixed over here I've been thinking about streaming Medivia. Just haven't gotten to really do anything besides mana sit.

Back to Shattered Dreams! This is a fun game to pass some time for sure. Early stages was great to help find bugs and kinks. Can't wait to see this online one day. Though even myself is still a noobie. Definitely a creative and well programmed game. Will definitely have to get a copy so I can stream and work on bugs. Let the fellow steemians see the basics and begin grasping the game play.

I'm not necessarily going to be working on SD again, but I will be using some of the code for a new game I want to gather some people together to build that will connect to the blockchain and allow people to earn for playing.

That's even better!

That's actually quite interesting, are you still creating games, are there any gaming projects that you are working on at the moment or you moved on to something else?
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years (just made two about 93 ad 2000) and I was just curious where did you get you game dev inspiration from - was that some specific game genre or some "era" in gaming?

I grew up with the classics like Zelda, Final Fantasy, and Legend of Mana. I'd say most of my inspiration comes from SNES rpgs like those.

As a matter of fact, I'm getting ready to start a whole new project. We'll certainly need play testers if you might be interested in such a venture when we get into development...

https://steemit.com/gaming/@thatsweeneyguy/let-s-build-a-game-1-getting-started-with-byond

That sounds good! I'll be sure to keep an eye on your progress there :)

I have tried a couple of uploaded video, it worked well. However, I am yet to try the live streaming.
Do you need a viewcam? mic? and software ?
Thanks for your advice
cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05