[oo2] #tenminteach -- Playing with OBS Overlays and Dynamic Text -- Don’t Worry, Back to Basics Next Episode! :)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Had such a cool little stream last night and the first video I made was well received that I just had to get this done today, I don’t have much time because I’ve gotta head out. I realise that this video is a bit more advanced that just setting up from yesterday but I had a reason to jump forward and make custom overlays and dynamic text because it makes making the animated thumbnails just so much easier and hopefully inspire you!

The idea is simple, make some overlays, that you can put over the top of your movement (could be you, game, chat, whatever) and then you can just screen cap a gif and upload it straight to the web, then you can simply save that to your machine or copy and paste that straight into a blog post, it certainly speeds up the making process.

Because I’m making a lot more courses and regular live streams having good thumbnails that stand out are important so that’s why I fast forwarded this episode, I realise it might be a little advanced from yesterday but I promise we will drop back to some more basics and pick up from episode one in the next video, this just helps me with putting videos out.

If I forgot to mention it in the vide, I converted the keynote .mov outputted files into .webm (google video) format to bring the size of the files down but also for the amount of memory that obs uses to store them in, they just run faster and keep the OBS memory usage down — I used the free Mac tool Miro Video Converter to do that, dead simple.

The dynamic text is easy too, just make yourself a .txt file (textedit) and then just have a couple of lines with some text that fits in the space that you have made on your movie overlay, this way every new video you make you just change the text and save and it loads it on the overlay automatically — another speed hack there for faster production and output! :)

I really hope you are enjoying this new series, don’t forget to upvote me, I’m looking to build a new streaming computer so that I can actually stream games and go part time streaming on dlive helping you all get started streaming but also run live video chats sessions that up to twelve people can join in on! :)



pinterest epic wins pinboard → brand advocate for nokia, 1000heads, verisign → won vloggie for node666 (san fran 2006) → television for time team history hunters 1999 (burton on trent) → sold me.dm to evan williams in april 2011 → went to phil campbell, alabama to help raise money after tornado ripped up the town (was on sky news, bbc news)→ CNN for sxsw 2013 about austin south by southwest event → video chat with robert scoble from rackspace → music video can you spot me? → won the digital derry contest for 5k euros → crowdfunded digital signage concept called pi street → now living life through digital blockchains.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Mate what a great video guide. Today I learned that you could have a dynamic text and you taught me how, that was so cool.

But the most important question here is how did you get that live crypto ticker? #longlivedash
And could I possibly get that ticker on Windows?

on the mac it's called COIN TICK, not sure what you would need on windows bro ;(

Thank you for that video and great explanation. I knew about gifs and animations but I haven't thought about using them in thumbnails. Great idea :)
I've learned something new and in few days I'll start using it :)

fab! glad i can help! :)

I really like your posts teamhumble, and I always wait for your post.

well thanks! :) rock on! i love OBS ;)

good post
all the best dear

Why a Dynamic Overlay is Awesome

  1. More Engaged Viewers – Traditionally, you engage your viewers by talking to them as much as often. This can get tiresome after a couple hours, so having your stream “talk” and react to viewers will lighten the burden.
  2. Encourages Follows/Donations – Setting up systems to provide stats and fun animations “game-ifies” the action of following and donating. You should give recognition to new followers, since a lot of the time, new followers just want to be noticed. Donators should also be featured, so that it is more apparent that their contribution is going somewhere.
  3. Self Promotion Space – Banners let’s your viewers learn more about you and the work you do. You can customize the entire overlay to be unique to your style, instead of relying on the default overlays everyone else uses.
  4. Automated Entertainment Value – You set it up once, and viewers benefit from the neat animations/interactivity without any added work on your part.

woi really cool, I hope you can vote me and I invite you to come to me to vote have me

I knew if I looked at your profile I would find tutorials on this stuff. Nice work @teamhumble

yep yep. ta!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00