Grow Food Not Lawns Canada ~ July 2018

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I'll take you for a video tour around our former lawn. We're still early in the season here in Nova Scotia, yet as you will see, food and flower explosion is imminent!


A sign we had on our front door for a few years trying to plant seeds in our community...literally and figuratively #growfoodnotlawns #foodisfree

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Awesome garden @lyndsaybowes I love it! And I'm loving the wild essence of it all, just my style as I'm not really a fan of the manicured look. I heard the other day that we (as a civilisation) produce enough food to feed the population ten times over and yet the vast majority is wasted and still millions die of hunger .. disgusting. Anyway I love this initiative and if we all took this responsibility into our own hands, the world would be a better place .. cut the chains people!

If everyone grew even just a little, and we utilized abandoned spaces...omg we would have so much food that we wouldn't be able to give it away!

Signed,

An aspiring chain cutter

@lyndsaybowes, Absolutely brilliant news you attend with Dlive. It's very clear video to see around your location instead chicken farm. Nice to see little bit of #chcikenbitches. Everywhere seems beautiful coloring bunch of flowers and plants of vegetables I think. Your both of kids given supporting much for growing your garden also. Thanks for given inspiration me.

I'm happy this inspires you, you should take us for a dlive walkwithme one day~! I would love to see the gardens and chickens there :)

Definitely my friend. I'll do very recently. Plz be patience like as cryptos holding :)

Everything looks so green and healthy and free roaming there! Around here, the lawn is slowly being allowed to become food patches... the reason we are letting it go slowly is that it seems easier to let a bit every year go in an organized fashion, rather than end up with a giant patch of weeds that scatter seeds everywhere... the ambition is to have everything be flowers — or food producing — in another 3-4 years; we have about 3/4 acre around us, so it's a good bit of space.

=^..^=

Ooh that's awesome, yes! Taking it slow is a great plan, it's easy to get overwhelmed, plus soil is expensive too, we brought in a bunch the last few years but didn't get any this year.

I'm so glad that you #growfoodnotlawns @curatorcat, I look forward to seeing your posts on it.

That's a awesome video... wtf are you gonna do with all that dill?? Your girls look great..

aha. which girls I was wondering, but I will be nice :)))

HAHA I'm not sure, I guess I'll give most of it away, dry and freeze a bunch, we love it for certain sauces, and on fish :) The girls say Hi!

Absolutely adore your videos and you have been producing them for soooo long now. Just heard from @pennsif's post about your fundraising efforts and I wanted to congratulate you on them too.
Seems I got a bonus as your video was very cool. I am due to move soon and the places I go usually have neglected gardens and I would usually seed it with grass. Haha! Not this time! Great sentiment in this post x

Awesome to see you @article61! Good luck with the move and your future garden ;) ;) ;) Thank you for all the good vibes!!!

Awesome video Lyndsay. I guess we'll have to wait for the next video to see those poppy's blooming.

Thanks so much for seeing my humble homestead @palikari123! I'll definitely take a video and a tonne of photos when they finally go crazy!

Always a pleasure to be given a tour around your garden Lyndsay, love the wild growing system you have developed over the years. Keep up the good work. :))

Thank you my friend...we didn't buy any seeds this year at all!!!

This is so important. And one can even be a lazy gardener and just take a patch of their lawn and scatter a profusion of veg/herb seeds and eat what wins the battle for sun and water. It's always lovely to see and so important to our health and well being. Good on you for spreading the word.

Here in America there are places where it is illegal to grow veg/food in your front yards. There was a story a few years ago of a community in Florida that literally had to tear out their gardens and put in lawns. We have a pretty powerful big agro/corp farm lobbyist system in the USA :(

Every time I hear a story like that I just know we're in an Orwellian dream...how much worse can things get, how much more backward???

What a wonderful garden. I love the mix of flowers and veggies. I haven't been able to have a garden for a bit and I am jealous. I used to have a sunflower garden mixed in with my veggies. Sunflowers do such wo derful things for a garden! I can't wait to see it progress.

Aww, I wish that you can find yourself gardening again really soon, it would be heartbreaking to go without, I feel your pain @bethvalverde!

Thanks me too.

Edggy or Eggy for Edgar? :D Love your farm as always! I'm so jealous of y'all with poppies. I must have tried four or five times to grow them and always they die at wee baby seedlng stage. :( I did once grow an amazing pot of black eyed Susans inside though!

Yeah, I've been calling her Edggy but it's slowly morphing into just Eggy lololol!! Crazy chicken lady strikes again!!

I'm sorry about your poppy luck so far, I have no clue how I've had such good luck with them...and they did all the work themselves this year from last years flower seeds. Maybe they really are just one of those guys who likes to be outside, they thrive in poor conditions...I have no clue.

How long did your Susans live? They're a short lived perennial I read, but my plant has come back for 4 years now!

They lived for months in a pot in an eastern window, that grew vines all over the place and flowers were around for a long time! But it was just one season, they died off in winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34