You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DLive is joining the Lino blockchain, moving away from Steem

in #dlive6 years ago

While you raise some valid points, @meno, I have to say--Dlive raises some valid points as well. Steemit.com has really begun to drop the ball. A 10 + hour outage without so much as a sentence of notification typed on the landing page (not the first time, either), constant circle jerk upvoting reducing any hope of rewards for quality to not even a glimmer of a ray of hope, combined with promises for two years now that are always "only a few months away"!

If DLived played them, that is not very honorable. However, one thing I will say is that Dlive actually seems to care about their user base, provided a viable product, and worked very hard to build a community. The chance taken on them by Steemit was done with the centralized aspect of their platform in full view. It's business, in other words.

I agree some actions are questionable. However, as per the statement here, there is no doubt that Steemit was becoming detrimental to their model. That's on the witnesses and investors who have dumped money in only to recycle it, and been too busy to curate quality content.

Sort:  

Agreed, my experience with steemit after a few months is basically: huge potential, questionable execution, and subject to the whims of whales.

This is interesting to hear. Thanks.

Sure, I'm still going to stick around because I want a medium where I can express myself and I've met some very cool people on here, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it to friends as I think they'd feel like they're throwing rocks at the ocean trying to get noticed. I feel as though the next decentralized social platform is around the corner where hindsight is 20/20 and they can avoid these types of issues or decisions. All systems are exploitable and corruptible and we are simply seeing another instance of how the few will figure out how to benefit off the many, whether or not it's too late to change is another discussion.

I liked it when you said CIRCLE JERK...truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87