Had a great time on @EricDWilson's DLive Stream! Thoughts on "Magic," and the two four-letter words for getting ahead.

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

The more consistent you are. The more order. The more happiness. The more peace.

I don't mean hard, inflexible "ORDER," or rigid schedules. Our family is a very go-with-the-flow type operation. Bedtime is whenever. Dinner isn't always planned. We roll with it. Some of this creates stress sometimes. Other times, it prevents it. We're always working to perfect our rhythm as a family. The journey is half the fun of it.

Anyway, my approach recently, thanks in part to some inspiration garnered from stand up folks like @boxcarblue, is to have a basic list of things I want to accomplish in the day, and to focus on getting those things done, each and every day. One of these is to play with my son. Even if I am busy, to take at least an hour away from my work when he gets home (on days when he is at the kindergarten) and play with him. Legos. Wrestling. goofing around.

Besides this, I aim to publish content on Steemit (3 - 4 posts), and various other social media, as well as to keep up the Voluntary Japan Discord Server, and make sure the plans for upcoming live shows and podcast guest spots are in order.

I am not a "routine" type of guy, so perhaps I should refine my point.

Today on @ericdwilson's podcast, we talked a lot about the power of consistency. Putting your shit out there regularly, enthusiastically, and persistently. This is the shit that brings about "luck," usually. As my former boss used to say: Boys, there's only one way to get ahead in this world, and it's two four letter words: HARD WORK. I used to think that was a bit cheesy. But I always believed it deep inside. And now I get it.

Screen Shot 2018-09-05 at 21.36.10.png

This is quite a meandering ramble, as I had initially begun writing thinking of posting about my son, and his introduction to helping with the dishes yesterday. I had just gotten back from a run (another daily goal of mine, or at least every-other-daily goal) and was feeling pretty good. Isaiah, my son, was watching YouTube videos on his tablet in the other room. I wanted to get him away from that thing for a bit, and also to help my wife. Hmmm. Okay. Well, let's make this fun.

I called him into the kitchen and put him on towel duty, assuring him I'd be working just as hard alongside him on dishwashing duty. At first he was a bit pouty, but then exactly what I wanted to happen--what I envisioned--happened. he ended up making it his own, and kind of turned the whole thing into a game. I could tell he was proud of himself when he completed the task. It's so important to complete some goals throughout the day.

IMG_4112.JPG

I guess the point I am trying to make (mostly for myself to absorb even more!) is:

If you want more magic and luck, put in more work and intention.

People who are so on and so driven like Eric inspire me. There is something to be said for just doing. Get the fuck out there, even if you are not "ready." Document. Vlog. Get on a livestream. Play those Legos. Make the dishes into a game and....Create.

Thanks for reading.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello @kafkanarchy84, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86