The Judo of Freedom - Don't lose your balance (basic principles)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Going LIVE here for a quick talk on politics, anarchism, practicality, and principle. Why rushing in headlong to the enemy's center of gravity is always a bad idea.

Link to comment thread with @joesal.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

My live stream is at DLive

Sort:  

Hi @kafkanarchy84,
thanks for the great video, indeed the principles of Judo one can use for Steemit, too.
It's not how big or how strong we are, the balance and the willing to create original content can bring you up on Steemit.
Have a beautiful Sunday
Tom

It's easier said than done. When your 'enemy's doesn't fight fair, you're compelled not to fight fair too. More often than not trying to stick to your own message without looking at the enemy will backfire. Then again, that's just my opinion

Also I donot consider myself a libertarian, even do I share a lot of your views, but I think you need to stop your bashing of Kokesh and try to find middle ground. Most comments I read affirm to your integrity, but you should also realize that even you are not perfect and a clash between you too here may be bad for your partys goals in the long run. That's just my two cents

I also have never claimed to be perfect, and that’s the whole point! No individual is fit to exercise non-consensual authority over another! Even a saint.

As far as the enemy not “fighting fair.” Two wrongs cannot make a right, Oppression cannot end oppression.

Well we can always agree to disagree on the second statement. I've never seen, in politics, where bad has been completely fought with good, there's always a shift, a compromise. Let's hope you will be the one to make me a believer

I won't make you a believer, because I agree, politics is always a compromise of morals.

Why do you consider dissent “bashing”? This seems like a dangerous and extremely suspicious characterization to me.

Suspicious how? From my little knowledge of this platform you two are the most popular libertarians. I'll take a cue from the Holy book 'A house divided against itself cannot stand'. All am trying to say is that you should try and exhaust all options to finding middle ground. Best of luck, and pardon my meddling

Suspicious how?

You classified my vocalization of an opinion different than Kokesh's "bashing." This is very bizarre.

'A house divided against itself cannot stand'.

Exactly. Agree 100%. Thus my disagreement with Kokesh's specific prescription of political action which violates ISO.

All am trying to say is that you should try and exhaust all options to finding middle ground. Best of luck, and pardon my meddling

You are not meddling at all. I respect your input. The problem is that oil and water don7t really have as middle ground. I have tried to dialogue with Adam, but as was the case with @larkenrose in his disagreement with Kokesh as well, I was called names, and told I was a "bad person," more or less.

Grade school type shit.

This isn't an actual war however. Ethics and honor matter, and people should be consistent.

Godo sport is very wonderful and has an impact on the human body
Video really distinguished

Great video in this aweome platform

I can't say I disagree with any of what you said. It makes complete sense. However, the majority of people aren't ready to accept reality. It's too scary and can make them feel too helpless. Therein lies the appeal for Kokesh. A hero who can come in and change the system to free them all. I'm under no illusions he'd actually make the presidency, but if he could it has the potential to be a huge lesson and reality check. If a libertarian could truly make it into the highest political position and still fail to change the system it might finally be enough to make people really realise that the battle is never going to be won that way. That this habit of doing the same thing over and over (voting new CEOs in) and hoping for a different result really is insane.

I believe the only way to collapse the system is to remove the support structures they stand on and that is our consent. If everybody dissented they would have no more power. Unfortunately, most people are incapable of thinking for themselves, whether it's through indoctrination or complete lack of ability to do so.

I was having a conversation with someone recently about the lack of common sense in what council workers do. She explained that the menial jobs are given to those who haven't the capability to do anything more than follow instructions.

I mean, I guess if one keeps bashing one’s head against a brick wall just one more time one may finally learn that the wall is hard, and that the exercise is futile, but this doesn’t seem to me to suggest that the headbashing is worth it.

I believe the only way to collapse the system is to remove the support structures they stand on and that is our consent. If everybody dissented they would have no more power. Unfortunately, most people are incapable of thinking for themselves, whether it's through indoctrination or complete lack of ability to do so.

I agree here. I am only saying that cajoling individuals into participation in the very mechanism that enslaved them in the first place is counterproductive, immoral, and dangerous.

Individualist Voluntaryists do not need a “hero.”
Especially one whom, beyond running a campaign contrary to the principle of individual self-ownership (as such this plan can never effectively “spread the message” to “the masses” as the message is, itself, ISO) is also unwilling to engage and discuss things honestly, without resorting to puerile name calling and other such sophomoric behavior.

I hardly see him as a “hero.” Even if he were, however, politics is dirty, and even a saint does not have the natural law right to impose policies on another man via central planning or “custodianship.”

I mean, I guess if one keeps bashing one’s head against a brick wall just one more time one may finally learn that the wall is hard, and that the exercise is futile, but this doesn’t seem to me to suggest that the headbashing is worth it.

I'd certainly never suggest that it is worth it and I would encourage continuing to advise against said head bashing, but I also realise that some people won't be talked out of it. However, some might possibly come to a realisation once they've cracked their head soundly enough.

Individualist Voluntaryists do not need a “hero.”

Yet this Kokesh seems to have quite the following. Does that following crave a hero I wonder? Many people seem to crave heroes, because it's easier than having to stand up for yourself. I do feel that this is why the system has so much support. Do you ever feel like you're banging your own head against a brick wall trying to explain things to people? I have to admit I've not really looked into or listened to his campaign myself. Political campaigns, as you say, are dirty and are generally promises never kept. The system is in place and keeps on following its path no matter who the next "leader" is. Whether they have good intentions, but find themselves powerless to implement them when they get in or whether they are lying from the start to get the job, it makes no difference ultimately.

I guess my question is, would him getting in be a big enough reality check to make people realise what you've been trying to tell them all along? Would it be any worse than what America has already had? He seems just as corrupt and corruptable as any of them though. Which would probably mean that people would just slip back into the same rut and say it didn't work because he wasn't a saint after all...

Excellent points raised here. And yeah, folks addicted to the political process and desperately wanting to be under some superhero “leader” would almost certainly just be sucked in by the next campaign because Oh! This guy’s different.

Maybe people do need to crack their heads harder. I’m not entirely sure.

Either way, I appreciate your comment and will think about what you have said.

Thanks for being a sounding board. I have these thoughts tumbling around my head and sometimes it's helpful to bounce them off someone to see if I'm making any sense. I could just be spiraling into insanity, but it might be a nicer place there... 😅

Excellent learning post. Thanks for sharing your video talking of important topics.....@kafkanarchy84

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82