Unschooling Blog, Vol. 52: Japanese Mountain Leeches (taking one for the unschooling team!)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

EDIT: DLive version not playing. Please view YouTube version directly below!

Thumbnail


YouTube Version:


Gross. Interesting. MOUNTAIN LEECH!


Today my son and I went out to a remote hiking and camping spot in the mountains to play and have a look around. The area was beautiful, and I think we are going to plan a camping weekend there later. Little did I know, however, that there was an unwanted stowaway riding with us back to the house, between my toes.

The Japanese Mountain Leech, or yamabiru, is an aggressive land leech that waits on the ground and in trees to ambush unsuspecting victims. When I say "ambush," I mean it. They are very aggressive and determined in their quest for blood.

Upon returning home and laying down to take a little rest, I felt something squirming between my toes. I thought it was a bug of some sort. When I reached down to check, whatever the hell it was, was very slimy. Soon I saw something fall on to my futon. It was a leech! I had been under the impression that these guys were not native to Niigata, where we live, in northern Japan. Apparently, I was mistaken.

Aside from all the beautiful scenery we took in today, I am going to call this a major unschooling win. My son was both freaked out and super interested. We finally poured a liberal amount of salt on the poor bastard and soon he was no more, losing all the blood he had imbibed, and dying. Blech!

Enjoy the video, and if you have time, check out the Real Japan Monsters channel on YouTube as well, for more neat videos of these creepy, slimy assailants.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

We have never done unschooling. But I keep seeing it mentioned on Steemit. So now I am curious.

I will show it to my dad and see if we should try unschooling in our homeschooling work. It may be really suited for my younger brother. The books don't always do great for him and my parents struggle to keep him into.

And.....I hate leeches. I got two on my leg many years ago and I hated it!

Great!

And yes, they are gross! :)

Congratulations @kafkanarchy84! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83