Allergies & summer travel

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Allergies are a blessing and a curse. They've led us to healthier eating, but travelling can be tricky. Also this is just a test first live stream on android

My live stream is at DLive

Sort:  

howdy there crowbarmama! haha! that cover photo is a classic! so the allergies are food allergies I assuming? And that's what is forcing the healthier eating.
What are they junk food allergies? lol. I mean artificial ingredients or something?
The video turned out great, I think we'll see some more video of the park too! great job and God bless you all today!

@janton Hello there sir! I was drinking fermented Beet Kvass there, so it had nothing to do with the video, but I had never done a live stream and didn't realize I needed a thumbnail until right as I was testing it. 😆

As for the allergies, her list of foods to avoid is long and complicated. In the summer she also is reacting a bit to the dust and pollen, so that wreaks havoc on her skin and in turn, makes her even more sensitive to certain foods. In the winter, her skin is always happier and she can tolerate a few more foods. The foods she physically reacts to are all nuts (except almonds), carrots, dairy (except grass fed butter), eggs (sometimes she can handle quail eggs), most raw veggies, stone fruits, cherries and cod. When she is really sensitive she has to avoid citrus as well.

We started eating really clean because we realized if she had food coloring or processed sugar, then we saw behavior issues. Basically, giving her a waffle with Mrs. Butterworth syrup is like giving a drunk a few beer and then expecting them to behave themselves.

She also doesn't process corn or soy well, and those things are in most convenience foods. It is now normal for me, but was a real shock at first because we've never really had food allergies on either side of the family. I had to learn a whole way of cooking and eating, but it's turned out to be a blessing because the entire family is healthier for it!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

oh my gosh crowbarmama thanks so much for the detailed explanation! wow I'm honored that you took the time.
Well that is an amazing story because on one hand I feel so bad for her but on the other hand she has helped the entire family to be more healthy! after causing you tons more work but the end result can be literally life saving. how interesting.

hey what in the world is fermented Beet Kvass? I hate beets so it sounds like a nightmare drink to me! lol. the fermented part sounds good but not the beet part!
God bless you guys!

@janton Haha. I did not grow up eating beets or fermented beverages, other than wine, so it was really foreign to me. There are different types of kvass, but basically it's beets with some salt and water, left on the counter for anywhere from a few days to a few weeks. It sounds nasty, and it does taste a little bit like dirt, but it is so incredibly good for you. The first time I tried it I gagged, but a second later I was craving more. It's so weird. Anyway, now I actually like it and try to make it regularly. I even did a post on it a while back when I was still new here. Check it out if you want more details.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@crowbarmama/beets-heart-health-and-100-followers

And as always, thanks for stopping by. It's always a pleasure to read your comments. Blessings to you!

Congratulations @crowbarmama! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @crowbarmama! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99