Deepak Chopra: Why we have anxiety—and what to do about it

in #dlike5 years ago

Shared From Dlike

Bokuju, The Zen Master's Method

Bokuju, a Zen master, used to live alone in a cave. He would sometime call out his name "Bokuju" loudly and then reply saying, "Yes, I am here." 

Then one of his disciple asked him, "Why do you call out your name and then answer it saying 'Yes, I am here'?"

Bokuju answered, "Whenever I start thinking and get anxious about anything, I have to remember to be alert, so I call out my own name. The moment I call out my name and answer it by saying 'Yes, I am here' the thinking and the anxiousness disappears." 

When we are alert we are in the present moment. In the present moment anxious thoughts about the past or the future cannot exist. 

Deeapk Chopra's Method

Deepak Chopra's method in the linked video achieves the same results albeit through a different method. 


Source of shared Link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00