🐎 Pulling Stacks of Lumber like a Draft Horse 🐎

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

Moving large objects can be intimidating, but it doesn't have to be phisically challenging...

20190106_010316.jpg

Steem line 2.png

I had just finished a job lugging another thirty 16 foot 2x12's from the bottom of our hill onto a trailer (we took two trips because we're pulling with a Honda crv!) neatly onto a pile, off the ground and rearranged another pile of freshly harvested dimensional lumber from its imminent destined life at the Dump.

20181214_125723.jpg

And then...

I remembered that small pile from last year, sitting in the middle of the field (off the ground, of course). That lumber should be moved too, and stacked neatly with the others.

But it was getting dark soon and I was tired!

That's when the light bulb went on and I thought of my last trip to Guédelon, (the 13th century castle being built today). They're building this castle in the same fashion and techniques used back in those medieval days, no modern day technologies. It's really an awesome place to see. If you're in France, give yourself a favor and check it out. The link above will give you much more info on it, it's well worth a look!

Anyway, at Guédelon I saw horses pulling logs from the forest to their carpenter shop and since I was standing next to our little quad, I thought... hmmmm those things are kind of like horses aren't they?

Easy work, is always working smarter:

  • And so I got a ratchet strap to hold the pile together as one tight little bundle and some rope.

  • Then I tighed a timber hitch from the pile to the frame of the quad.

  • Started up my engine and pulled the throttle slowly to put some tension on the rope.

  • And drove off!!!!

20190104_163956.jpg

I know it looks awefull, but it's a clove hitch with a quick release... the old hemp rope really curls!


20190104_163947.jpg

With the long tail, make a half hitch (that same twist you would give the string around a prensent, at the bottom of a box) and send it up to the horse.


20190104_163750.jpg

One of these days i will do a series on making knots, promise.


I couldn't believe it worked so well!!!! I wasn't sure if the rope could handle it, it's old 3/4 hemp, but it did. And so I kept on pulling the pile of lumber all the way to where I eventually stored it.

Here's the video:

I had my phone pluged in for music blasting out of my car, so you will not see me actually dragging the pile of wood but I show you the process... it's a shorty 😊.

Steem line 2.png

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @BinaryFlat

I am not what I used to be, and I never was.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

Join Us On Discord

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

Awesome solution! Seems like the quad handled it very well! That lumber, by the way, looks super nice for being from the dump!

Yeah that thing worked out great! The lumber was on it's way to the dump but I was able to intercept around 60 pieces so far!!!

Most of is has used in a film stage for the last 7 seasons of a TV show. It's very dry but it'lla work for construction just fine. Moslty dpuglas fur it is 😁

Love a bit of primitive technology and so stoked for you to get that timber haul! What a bargain.

Thanks River! It's really amazing how much lumber keeps on coming to us too! There's another truck load on its way monday about 3 or 4 times what we already got!!! I can't believe it.

Cool little project. One horse power? ha ha

Heehee yeah... reehouse projects and roof rafters

Survival is problem solving! "If she doesn't find you handsome, let her find you handy" LMAO! Awesome use of resources.

Haha good one. Lucky I find my husband both sexy AND useful.

Haha I like it! Survival is problem solving... very true.

Thanks for the visit 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71