IS THE WORD "SIR" FOR YOUNG MEN TOO?

in #discussion6 years ago

I am still a young man in my thirties and get people from here and there addressing me with SIR and i keep wondering why they are addressing me SIR when i am still a young man.

manchester-1606476__340.jpg

Image credit

I used to think that it is only older men in their Fifties and above you address with SIR. But some people made me understand that the word SIR is not just used for old men, but there are other factors people consider when calling any man SIR.

A friend of mine told me that,

SIR can be used has a sign of respect to a grown man not necessarily because he is old.

But for me am already used to believing that SIR is used to address older men in their Fifties and above. I used to feel uncomfortable when somebody calls me sir, because am not an old man.

What is your opinion about the word SIR? is it used to just address older men in their fifties and above or there people consider in addressing a man has SIR?

Let me know in the comment box.

Sort:  

i think this word is expressing some respect in a social world

Thank you. I will take your contribution in.

I love it. It shows respect. Unfortunately, in Germany we don't use the equivalent "Mein Herr" anymore, but I do enjoy being called "Sir" when I come across one of the US military bases we have in the country.

I hated it much more to be called "young man" because it's usually meant a bit derogatory.

because am not an old man.

Are you not an old man or do you not feel as an old man?

This is the current age pyramid of Nigeria:

I don't know how things look like where you live, but overall there are about 60 million people older than you and 12 million who are younger.

-> For two thirds you are a Sir;-)

Hahahahahaha. Thank you man. It is a good review. I will take your contributions in.

But mehn you are very resourceful getting informations, how do you do it?

you're welcome. The chart is from the German Wikipedia entry about Nigeria. I found the chart via google images.

Ok.

@doodlebear, i saw that your name was mentioned as one of the sponsors of utopian-io. What is utopian-io about? And dont forget me when you start reaping the benefits from it.😁😁

My contribution there is rather small. You can delegate them some Steem Power too. After all, compared to me you are rich here^^

Utopian rewards users with valuable upvotes how do work on open source projects. For example, you find an error in an open source program like Linux, you can write an article about it there and then you get an upvote for noticing it. If you don't just notice it, but fix it, the reward is even bigger.

It seems to me a very promising concept. In fact, it could be the thing that will make Steem big, because it creates a win-win situation for everyone.

Ok i c. Thank you.

One last thing, Sir. Go here and look in the comment section for the answer I got. That's what I call manners ;-)

Yah he really has manners. And the guidance you give him about this platform will warrant his response. You really noble because you will hardly see somebody taking their time to guide somebody here. I guess people can also refer to you has sir if you have helped them greatly.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Apeji Yaaniv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is dependent on the country or region one comes from.

Ok. Enlighten me more @eurogee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85