You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Questions for SteemIt Inc.

in #discussion6 years ago (edited)

I'm okay with either answer. If we are going with the "Build it and they will come" approach I would rather invest in a chain that is taking action or build a team in the community. This is becoming a highly competitive market.

I'm not trying to control what they will do, I just want to know. If they don't want to brand and market and find ways to pitch the chain, that is A-okay. If they do want to promote, I think the community should get on board with their messaging.

Sort:  

the community should get on board with the messaging

Yes, this is critical. Because right now the landing page for someone new to the site says “your voice is worth something! Get paid for good content.” And it should really be changed to say “your social networking skills are worth something! Get paid for your connections.”

We’re working on it!

Absolutely no one thinks you play any role with SteemIt Inc.

Edited to say... ah, I was wrong. lol sorry.

That’s fine :)

Welcome @kittyninja!

Now guys do your magic, make STEEM fly! =]

You should introduce yourself if you actually do. We get a lot of trolls around here.

I'm not really talking about a social media blast, I'm talking about branding, packaging, Marketing, vs. Advertising

Who do you report to?

I understand. That’s actually been a huge undertaking since I started in this role. I report to our Head of Communications & Advocacy, who reports to Ned. I’ll do an introduce myself post very soon.

What is needed is not yet another disconnected introduction post but rather a comprehensive team page on an informative web site. Top five steps for almost any crypto investor is to attempt to investigate the team behind the blockchain/token. For Steem this process results in reaching a dead end and then said investor likely moves on.

That this still hasn't been done two and a half years in is mind boggling, but how about getting it done before three years.

Why is that @smooth? Why are there no back numbers? Names and Faces?

Okay, I'll remove my flags. Yes, we would love to hear from the marketing team.

She had me fooled.

It's still open for debate ,but who knows lol
She manages this twitter account.

Oh dear. Love that 10 rep tho.

Beautiful way to start isn't it? haha...

I also manage our Steemit account and the rest of our social accounts :)

Hi, @kittyninja sorry if there is really any confusion obviously there was no introduction post from your account so it raises suspicion as you can imagine. Feel, free to drop into one of the biggest Steem discord server to say hi to us SteemSpeak ! looking forward to hearing from you!

Thank you. Sorry about that. Got ahead of myself but I will definitely introduce myself in a post. I’m sure the rest of the marketing team would love to do so also.

If they do want to promote, I think the community should get on board with their messaging.

I agree with that. (Assuming that the messaging makes sense.) And of course I'd like as much information from Steemit as they're willing to give. But I don't think anyone needs to wait for permission or instruction from Steemit before beginning to act. If d-app development is any indication, even if they don't drive it, Steemit might be willing to help fund a well thought out recruitment strategy from elsewhere in the community.

Good points.

I reached out with an email yesterday and even though i cannot disclose what they wrote it seems their focus is mostly on developing. Im not of the opinion they have a mature marketing team. Maybe its in the idea phase, maybe its in the starting phase but what @kittyninja says they seem to be starting it up which is of tremendous importance.
I provided them with an idea i think would augment the promotion aspect to a large degree but thats only one level. What we need is old school shillers ready to reach out to everyone and anyone in media. Just writing a few blogs and twitter posts will not cut it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97