Buckle Down For a Long Six Months

in #discussion6 years ago


As the drama and excitement from HF20 begins to die down, we are back to waiting for SMTs.  

This hardfork was meant to enable scalability and growth.  Whether or not you think that was accomplished, there wasn't a lot of immediate value in the fork.  Combined with no visible marketing yet, and a lot of questions and dissatisfaction about the chain, it is my opinion we are going to enter into another six months of grinding along, and some days asking ourselves why.  :)

With the price lower and no cryptocurrency pump in sight, we have to face the possibility we will continue to move the chain forward 3 seconds at a time while dApps get built and SMTs programmed and planned, without significant growth.

If one believes in the future value of the Steem Blockchain this is a great time to accumulate tokens, find others who are also here for the long haul, and hone your skills.  I have no doubt there will be some who do exactly this.  Others will move on, and that is also fine.

If we set our expectations for a long-slow haul and suddenly cryptocurrency does get a pump, that is easier to adjust to for most than expecting something to happen each day, while we grind along.

I want to remind those who are disappointed with earnings that we are all disappointed with earnings!  lol, from large to small most of us would like to get more engagement, more Steem and more appreciation.

Most of you know this, but a reminder for new followers, I built this account which is moderate in size, earning pennies at a time.  1 penny, began to earn inflation and helped me earn curation and that in turn earned the next penny, soon those pennies became a dollar and so on and so forth.  I bought in a few times with relatively small amounts.  I gained a follower here and there, and the rewards started to grow faster.  If you want to build your account Powering Up matters.

I acknowledge Steem has many flaws, but so do most cryptocurrency projects and I expect many of us will survive the grind.

If you picture a long slow grind coming over the next 6 months to a year, how does it feel?  How will you react?  What are your goals?

Let's talk about in the comment section

@whatsup


Sort:  

@whatsup,
I don't believe on short term market pumps! I want to see SMT and after that the future of STEEM! Yeah we didn't see, we don't see but HF20 made the ground for that SMT launch!
Now it's almost 16 moons for my account. I earned by commenting (I mean engaging) and some times with my posts as well! Anyway it's almost 16 moons gone! But here I am and here I am stilling typing comments and engaging with my following people!
With that interaction sometimes I earn, sometimes I am not! Anyway, I have SP I have enough SP to see that big picture of SMT launch!

Cheers~

Congrats on 16 moons! :) I often struggle with wanting to feel we are doing things right to add value, but also... It's crypto, so there are pumps and dumps.

My hat was tossed into the ring a couple months ago. Six months, 12 months, it makes no difference because I believe. I believe in the future of cryptos. I believe in the social media angle of Steemit and I believe in the capabilities Steemit has to change the lives of those who live in less than ideal conditions. I believe in your 'Make Steem 8 Again' campaign.

I believe that more crooks and greedy people will wiggle their way out of the woodwork and I believe that many more people will discover how good it feels to help others less fortunate than themselves simply by dropping a vote on them.

I believe that new Steemit legends will be made. I believe I will meet some great people that I consider an honor to call 'friend'.

I am here for the grind and will continue to learn as the days go by.

Great speech. ;-)

Ha, I love it... I believe all of that and more will happen as well!

Yep!...let's make it happen!

I think rewards might be going up so that is a good thing.

Personally, I haven't noticed that, but if it is true that is awesome.

What is interesting is that now with RCs and potential earnings on that, everyone who starts now has access to two potential revenue streams here in some future. How many will take this new opportunity and power up?

The future always seems a long way away until it arrives and finds you unprepared.

That is a very interesting idea. I hope someone does make a market for it. I know I don't need all mine.

Very few individuals with more than 500-1000 SP will ever really need it all so it makes sense to be able to be part of the empowering of new users. Not sure if/when it will happen but it makes the most sense to give the community the tools to grow itself.

Nobody gets rich overnight, at least not in my world. Investing in a project like steemit in which I believe, since, I like it, it does not become routine, but it becomes pleasure, and like any relationship of lovers Steemit and I will have our highs, but also low in our relationship, however Keeping us together will be the goal. and be happy for as long as necessary. I think that little by little and with patience, planning time can go far.
Enchanted with your work, and your support of always, because you have shown interest in the new projects and encourage the little ones, happy to meet you.
Good vibes.

haha, you are always around spreading cheer and happiness! Also, great vibes. :)

That is my project, raise and give good vibes in the least expected moments. and that each one takes a SMT of affection hehehe.

If one believes in the future value of the Steem Blockchain this is a great time to accumulate tokens, find others who are also here for the long haul, and hone your skills.

Unashamedly in this category

Me too! Be proud, be loud!

Ive been here for 2 long years fighting for every penny and still fighting. Seen many come and go, i have been tempted a few tines to move on but steemit keeps pulling me back.

I say that also, I've pried every Steem I have out of the reward pool.

No. You have worked for it by being a big part of steemit

When i hear grind i think of my teeth hurting. Yikes. Hmmm, the fantasy i had of people all over the world who could really improve their lives and help their family and friends? Was i crazy? Is that even possible? Hmmm, is even possible that i will ever earn back the money i spent buying steem when it was almost 6 dollars??? lol , that was a mistake but it helped get going here and be a contribution in a small way to others. It also locked me in and keeps going. So i ramble a bit here and there and am going to keep sailing along... escape from the "doldrums" will be nice, and freshing breeze from the northwest, sail on sailors ;) adventures await. Well there's me being a bit silly

i don't think you were or are crazy. we saw/ feel this too! and i do think you will earn it back, but it may take some time! we are here too, and glad to see you silly :)

Thank you! @mountainjewel writing is not my best skill which is very silly here on steemit right? I was thinking that crypto needs to be easy... really really easy like how computers got to be when i bought a macbook pro 10 years ago. It went from clunky clanky cranky and somewhat difficult to do anything to easy as pie. Am i making sense? For instance why not just be able to go buy 10 or 100 or 1000 steem in my wallet just by using my bank card... couple of clicks and voila! done. Ok now i feel like i just set myself up for a spanking. If it was that simple for everyone it would be huge. Of course there are many who like it complicated and profit from it... now i'm asking for it ... oops : )

Most of you know this, but a reminder for new followers, I built this account which is moderate in size, earning pennies at a time.

This kind of gives some hope to a sustained growth here on steemit! :)

Honestly, I don't even care how is steem priced these days. Not being a hypocrite, I entered steemit for the money; but right now, the idea is to grow, power up, and first objective is reaching minnowhood, without considering if steem is priced at 5$ or 0,01$! If I didn't saw potential in the long term, no point in staying here; I end up spending here more time than I antecipated, growth takes time, there are lots of great projects evolving here, and although only online, I've met quite a few cool people on the platform.
So, I will be very interested in knowing how steem will be priced in 2, 3, 5 years. Now? Focusing on interacting with the community and as you say, gathering pennie by pennie!

Absolutely, just keep posting and engaging... it starts growing faster and faster with time..

No need to wait.

Building a community to take what we have an make it awesome. I know you're with me!!

I shall check this out! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78