Are we getting ripped off by Researchgate as well as scientific publishing houses?

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)


Source





This morning I opened my email and I saw a message from a colleague on the legal action by ACS against Researchgate.





Reading more, I found that ACS is accusing Researchgate of commercially profiting from research articles that authors willingly share on their research gate profile but were published by ACS.



Having been on researchgate for almost 4 years now, and uploaded many of my research articles,

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Elijah_Adesuji2/contributions

I found it unappealing that Researchgate might have been profiting from research materials that many erudite scholars of similar interest share on this researchers' ecosystem.
I have also benefited from downloading research articles from authors who are on researchgate and have thesame interest like mine. I have gotten solution to some questions posted on researchgate.
Now that a legal action has been instituted by ACS and others against Researchgate;


What do you feel will be the hope of scientist around the world that need good scientific literature to back their researches, but have no subscription to ACS, Elsevier, Wiley and others?



To read more:

http://app.acspubs.org/e/er?s=1913652004&lid=11294&elqTrackId=d95b1d574d3d439e840fa67eb8c791df&elq=11eb2df27ecd4d0895de8c072ce79540&elqaid=5833&elqat=1

https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/pressroom/newsreleases/2017/september/acs-publications-endorses-publishing-trade-groups-approach-toward-researchgate.html

http://www.responsiblesharing.org/coalition-statement/

http://www.responsiblesharing.org/



 This is a #discussion post!
A #discussion post is intended to spark an engaging conversation with the community. Everyone is encouraged to participate in the discussion below with thoughtful comments! Remember to upvote the comments that are adding value to the discussion. You can read more about the #discussion tag here: [Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion!](https://steemit.com/discussion/@timcliff/hey-steemains-let-s-start-a-discussion 

I look forward to reading your opinion and suggestions.

Sort:  

I am learning from this post, @turpsy since it'll take a short while before publishing my first article. When I read this post of yours, I had to quickly peruse the Researchgate's terms of servive. Before ACS wrote to inform her authors, there must have been some form of infringement of authors copyright.I am glad that ACS is taking legal action against Researchgate. My uncle (mother's younger brother), Dr. James Uhomoibhi has 110 articles of his shared in Researchgate. I'm sure that this information which you've shared will be of importance to him, in case he doesn't know about Researchgate profiting from Authors intellectual property. Can you just imagine my uncle's 110 published articles and your 10 published articles being sold out to the public without your permission? I hope to follow through on this story. My wish is that ACS and other authors get justice for this infringement on authors copyrighted intellectual property. Thank you so much, @turpsy, for sharing this information and eliciting discussion.

@maryfavour for @redfishpillar.

Well, ResearchGate is not selling these articles. It is just like a community where member can put there researches for wider visibility.

Can you just imagine my uncle's 110 published articles and your 10 published articles being sold out to the public without your permission?

No, they are not selling it. You upload your article if you wish. The thing is people can easily see your profile when they search for your contributions. Do you know it will be difficult to easily know that your uncle has 110 articles if not for an initiative by research gate? I checked his profile, and I really love his sound research output.

ACS proposal might make research articles difficult for some researchers from some part of the world. Thank you for stopping by.

Responding to your question

What do you feel will be the hope of scientist around the world that need good scientific literature to back their researchers, but have no subscription to ACS, Elsevier, Wiley and others?

as a public health scientist, my hope is in accessing peer-reviewed articles from pubmed/medline and kobson. Thanks to one of my good lecturers, Prof. dr. Momcilo Babic (not my mentor, I wish he is), who through his permission, I access articles in Kobson. Maybe, you should try to find articles through google scholar, google books, since the legal action of ACS will have a negative effect on ACS authors.

@maryfavour

Thank you for your comment @maryfavour. Those publishers are good. Yes i do use google scholar, scifinder and google books. We hope for a better scientific world through blockchain someday.

I would say that ourhope is open access publishing. More and more finders require it (and publishers benefit from it with their charges). But it should break down the paywalls at least.

Yes you are right @huitemae. As a researcher from an African country, and whose institution could not subscribe for research articles at the time of my bachelors degree, I had to rely on articles from open access. Since we know that many sound researches are mostly authored in established journal house like Elsevier, Wiley, ACS, it became difficult to access them and there affecting some fundamentals of research. Also, good scientific outputs are combination of many different publications, i wonder how many articles a researcher will pay for to get reasonable information. I believe the paywalls will be broken pretty soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Sleep is catching me in jenifa's voice. Had a long day today but will read it tomorrow and know what's up. Hope you're good? Just wanted to say hello. 😊

Thanks @sweetestglo-eu. I appreciate your stopping by. Talk soon.

Thanks, this is a good point!

I posted there an article on how to speed up artificial intelligence (AI). Now I split it into a series of blog posts.

Here is it. I would appreciate if you could also read and upvote it. Of course, only if you like the post.

post --> https://steemit.com/technology/@martinmusiol/understanding-artificial-intelligence-blog-post-2-how-does-ai-identify-objects-in-images

Kr,
@martinmusiol

I just read it. It was a great explanation. Thank you

nice article thnks for info

Thank you !!

Thanks to provide Great New and Useful Information

I'm not a scientist.
BUT
It would seem to me that the free flow of information
would be a
GOOD
thing.
(note: profit is not a bad word)

Thank you @everittdmickey, yes profit is not a bad thing, but in the scientific world, information and right information is the bane of every sound research. Pay walls defeat this.

Hello @turpsy

I found it unappealing that Researchgate might have been profiting from research materials that many erudite scholars of similar interest share on this researchers' ecosystem

It appears you are just waking up from sleep my friend @turpsy. This is how most of these article hubs do. Take your time and study them one after another. You would be surprised to find out I am right after all. I pray they are fined heavily.

@eurogee

Hahaha. Sleep is good my brother, @eurogee. Well, lets see what happens. Its just going to hurt the research world the more, the step ACS is following.

Ok, this sounds a little interesting. Not sure i got your point clearly though. Are you against ACS taking action against researchgate or you are in support? If they are earning from peoples article they should as well get authorization before using a content for commercial benefits.

Thank you for your response @ceepee. Researchgate is a community of researchers. When a member publishes his or her work on any publishing house, they could share them with their colleagues or the scientific community on researchgate, this means such publication is stored in the profile of such researcher, however being hosted by Researchgate.

Now, researchgate can only profit from it by traffic to their site, but in the real sense, the authors/ researchers upload thier work there so as to easily connect with other researchers in their field or share their research publication as answers to questions in the question forum.

With the legal action against researchgate and if this goes through, it might be difficult to know/download/ read of people in your field.
For me, I only get access to scientific journals when I am using my institution's wifi. I cannot access journals published on Wiley, Elsevier and ACS using my home wifi. Therefore, deterring my basic scientific output at that time, except i use another service by sci-hub to download them.

This means, these publishers are STRONGLY against the progress/ advancement and free distribution of the brain work of the scientific community just because they are the publishers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98