"58" Shades of Gray #3 Day Job; Employee VS Self Employed

in #discussion6 years ago

In the three months(appr.) I have been on SteemIt, only one person has said how well their day job works for them. (homesteaders are exempt) Many have vented frustration over being an employee, required to work a day job. A few have vented frustration over challenges they face being self-employed. The most common statement I hear is "I want to Steem full time". There are some people making a living just from SteemIt. And quite a few who are Steeming full time, but not making a living.

For me this is not a black or white issue.
I've been working in the construction field since I was 19. A few months in I was hand digging footings under a cabin we were relocating. It was a tough situation making the work harder than normal. I threw down the pick I was using and told myself:

"I hate this and I am not going to do something I hate!"

After a few minutes pondering, I decided I had to try giving everything I had to the work and see if I could like it well enough to continue. The extra effort and change in attitude was miraculous. Immediately every task I faced was a challenge to overcome. Each task became a victory. Soon I saw a benefit to my labor, in addition to money, that persists to this day.

I got to see something I helped build.
fruitvale.png
Google Earth Image of a Business Park I worked on in Yakima, WA

I believe one of the most valuable aspects of our efforts, along with making a living, is a sense of service. Providing something of value to others. I have had the privilege of providing homes,businesses, roads, utilities, and maintenance of all those things, to generations of customers and friends.

There's another side to this coin.
Often my work feels miserable, and half jokingly I say I should've stayed in college!
Early hours and long days that never seem to end.
Brutal cold and heat, mud and snow.
My body has suffered. (Benefited as well)
Conflicts with supervisors that I didn't get along with.
Customers that cannot be satisfied.
Government regulations that make no sense other than to restrict production.(Don't get me started)
Less money than other occupations.
Less respect from society as a blue collar worker.(Don't get me started here either)

Ever since the day I threw down the pick, I have, in essence, worked for myself. Even when I am employed by another. I choose to become employed by a company that chooses to employ me. To this day, I could not endlessly work at something I hate.

About three months ago, I started working a second job.
Steemit Green.png
I didn't intend to become as involved as I have, but it was fun and interesting from the start. I don't make much money, but if crypto goes where I believe it's going, the long term payoff will be great. The best payout now is I get to interact with YOU!

I can't say for sure what I would do if I became independently wealthy. I wouldn't mind facing that challenge.
Or, perhaps, I will become a full time Steemian, who knows?

The point for me is that even as an employee, I have always been self-employed.

Getting back to the opening paragraph in this post, I'm interested in how your
making a living is working for you.
Are you an employee? How do you feel about that?
Are you self-employed? What are your challenges, and how is that working?
And from everyone, how does SteemIt benefit you? How does it challenge you?

I’m 58 and I live in a beautiful, colorful world filled with “Shades of Gray”,
Animated GIF-downsized_large (1).gif

Sort:  

I don't like working for other people.

I work at a restaurant and I don't look forward to going there every day. However, ultimately it's not so bad especially when I hear about what other people do.

I can definitely relate to the blue collar thing. People talk to restaurant workers as if they are somehow lower on the scale of worthiness. It can definitely be frustrating.

I like Steemit mostly because it's really gotten me to open up with my writing. I really enjoy writing even though I haven't been writing as much lately as I would like to.

I think when it comes to the fiction arena on Steemit there's a lot of places to go and most of those places involve going upward.

100% upvote for a spot on comment. Thank you @jeezzle.
Would you write for a living if you could make enough to get by? I have seen growth in your writing in the short time I have been here. At least that's how it looks to me. Other than SteemIt, I have no idea what it would take to be a professional writer.
Since I have gotten payed to type words on SteemIt, can I call myself a professional writer? lol
As far as the blue collar, it rips me that people look down on the very people who are supporting and providing their lifestyle. I don't begrudge them any success they may have, but does that make them better? People with money, power or both, but lack humility are enigmas to me.
Would you like to own a restaurant? Would you like to manage one? Managing a restaurant sounds like a major headache to me.

"The point for me is that even as an employee, I have always been self-employed."

Yes! Yes! Right there in a nutshell!

Mike Rowe (Dirty Jobs) said that you don't have to "do what you love" and follow your passion to be happy, but you should take your passion with you in whatever job you do.

Using a lot more words!

I've been on both sides - employee and business owner with employees. Different responsibilities (and opportunities) for each, but it really boils down to what you said here.

I don't even remember where I heard this but...
"If you feel bored with something, give it more attention and it will become the most interesting thing in the world!"
I'm not sure about the most interesting thing in the world, but it sure has helped me get some focus and enjoy whatever I am doing more.
Thank you for checking out my post!

Nice post and nice attitude... I actually just quit teaching after 16 years, and I'll be earning money online from now on... so moving to being self-employed and having to deal with precarious income....

I couldn't do the mental switch you made, teaching's just got too bad, but at least I can get out, that's only partly due to steemit.

I like the interaction on here, lots of crazy, in a good way, people!

Some situations can be unbearable. I would never encourage anyone to stay in a field that isn't working for them(excluding occasional bad days, because they are a part of everything). It's outrageous that one of the most important fields we have(teaching) is in the state it's in. A couple of teachers I had are some of the most influential people in my life. I would be interested to here more about your experiences as a teacher; worst frustration and best reward. Is SteemIt your main online income now?

Yes it is shocking, and people staying are getting squeezed more and more every year.

steemit's not my main income stream, it's my wordpress blog over at revisesociology.com

I'm going to try and increase my income on steemit - but I'm aware this could be challenging to say the lease! If I hit a regular $500/ month I'll be VERY happy with that!

Well, based on what I see in your posts, you will be getting a few cents from me, lol. Perhaps someday my vote will have more impact.

Why thanks, every little helps! And as to the later, hopefully and for all of us!

I appreciate the public service everyone in the construction field provides. It is an underappreciated field but we all need the the civilized lifestyle, just many of us don't take time to realize the labor involved in getting to that civilized state.

I would love to Steemit full time on a tropical paradise someday. I love the ocean and I think I would be inspired to write quality content if Steem takes off and give me grounds to quit my real work. My content is not that bad now but I do lack the time and inspiration to spend hours writing, what with the whirlwind of the real world.

"whirlwind of the real world", I can certainly relate to that. And after today(rough work day) "steeming in paradise" sounds VERY attractive.
Gotta have some bad ones to appreciate the good ones!
Spot on about many don't realize the effort that goes into their lifestyle. Oh, well. Life goes on. I get the impression you put a lot of effort into your work. Appreciation to you as well!

Made it back before post payout! Sometimes I don't even make it before that.

I try to put in the effort, but not everything is appreciated, both in the real and Steemit world. Perhaps that's just a fact of life. My work drives me crazy some days too. Only so much a person can take before the big "I..Q" Let's just say everyone I know are thinking of an escape route. It really is a shame because all that is needed is the big people to show some appreciation to the little guys. In both the real and Steemit world.

Gotta have some bad ones to appreciate the good ones!

Very true. I hope you don't have too many rough days at work. Just kick some pile of rocks around when it's extremely bad, and use your imagination to paint some faces on them. :)

I don't really fathom the idea of working for someone. I will love to be my own boss even though I end up being a employee to someone I will still have my own establishment going on. Trying to save some money that I can use to start up something once I'm done with school.

Any ideas what you want to start?

Not really. But I'm thinking of starting a catering business

I have heard of two successful ways to start a business.
Some people just have to do what they are passionate about. They stick with it through down times because they love what they do, and eventually they become very successful.
Others are interested in business, and search for an opportunity they think they can make work. The actual product or service is less important than the business.
Both ways can work. Which one of these, if you think it applies, would catering be for you?

Yes I think it will cos I have the passion for catering
Thanks for the kind words. I appreciate

Sounds like if you keep up the same attitude of never giving up with Steemit, I think you will success in Steemit business too.

I just blogged about how I had fun today on my 1 st day of work. Take a look.

Hey hey @roundhere!
I actually enjoy my job! I'm a Forestry aircraft pilot for the State of Louisiana and have been employed here for almost 29 years.
For the most part, it has been a rewarding career​. During the "Great Recession" there were several years that I didn't know if my job would survive or not. I had survivor guilt after many of my friends were laid off and cast aside while I continued.
Now, I have enough years and acquired​ leave to retire any time I'd like. The day I met the retirement requirements was like the weight of the world off my shoulders. I work now because I still enjoy my job. I may retire and travel with the Missus after my last kid graduates from college.
I'm the type that has to be occupied so I'm getting a lot of hobbies lined up. Steemit is one of them.
I've been here since January and met several great folks. You're in the top ten list if not in the top three!
CARRY ON my friend, I always enjoy your original work!

Your situation sounds great. I'm happy for you. Do you check for fires, lost hikers... that sort of thing? If you fly anything like you write, it's no wonder they kept you on.
Thanks for the compliment and I send the same back to you.

I do fire patrol almost exclusively. There are other missions but that is my main job. Many hours of making left turns or monotonous flights over the same territory. Thanks for praising my mediocre writing skills! HA!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16