We went out to eat yesterday

in #discussion6 years ago



Real Nice Place...had lots of fun
..................................................................................................................................................................

Unlike the guy who was sitting at the table next to us.
With his wife and daughter.
They had their faces buried in their smartphones..
He might as well have been alone.

Sort:  

Addiction to "devices" is frightening. Last week I walked into my son's house and my grandson was, as usual, starring into a tablet. He used to run to me and give me a big hug. No more.

I see that all the time. People spending time on their phone when they're supposed to be enjoying life with their family/friends. One of the reasons I was one of the last people I know to even get a cellphone lol

I feel the same way about TV's and loud music.
If I want to watch TV..(which I don't)...I'll sit there and watch it.
fuggetabout talking to someone else in the room with me..
not happening (intelligently)
I'm too busy screaming great imperceptions at the TV...
to pay attention to anyone in the room with me..
same thing in resturants...I purely HATE TV's in them.

actually I hate TV in general..at least smartphones serve an (ocassional) purpose other than IQ deletion.

I can relate to that. I only own a TV to occasionally watch old movies and documentaries. Haven't watched news or television "shows" in years. I'd rather read a book, listen to music, or spend time outdoors in my free time.

When we friends hang out together we have our phones stacked on one another. The one pulling their phone out first will pay the bill. That helps cut down the unnecessary scrolling of Facebook feeds at least.

I see that all the time. People spending time on their phone when they're supposed to be enjoying life with their family/friends. One of the reasons I was one of the last people I know to even get a cellphone lol

When the staff I manage is on lunch 5-8 will be on their phones. I say to them you have a real life person sitting with you, why not engage them? Always get blank stares. I have taught my children when interacting with people, do not get on your phone, it so rude. This is all by design, keep the people occupied with dumb stuff and take away their freedoms.

Cell phones have been ending with human relations of direct contact and has also affected efficiency in offices and industries; and even to find a girlfriend or boyfriend, many young people seek it through the social networks they use through their phones ... the telephone interrupts constantly any intention of human contact ... in some work meetings that I had to attend, it is a mandatory condition to turn off the phone, because the number of interruptions received is impressive. I particularly try to control my daughters regarding the use of the cell phone at the time of eating, it has not been easy, but we are already achieving it.

"The Smart Phone Generation " It is rather sad that people organize hangouts these days and at the end, all they really end up going is just taking photos and videos which they'll post on social media to make it look like they are having fun. So you sre sitting befre me talking to me. Who the hell are you still chatting with on phone?
The funny thing is: if u r talking to thd person life you will now be chatting with me online... pathethic and sick

Terrence makenna - food of the gods - An interesting read into the whole drug issue/culture.

One of his chapters (written pre comp) TV - the only electronic drug.
(addiction being obsessive, and compulsive behavior).

The massive difference as he points out...

Alcohol, cocaine, grass, whatever - YOU pick your own experience.

With the electronic drug someone else decides your trip..

Deep and scary. I need a drink.

seems like I've heard of 'makenna' sometime in the past.
some kind of druggie wasn't he?

Mirror, Mirror in thy hand whom is the most distracted in this land?
Yep, Now my realization about 2001 A Space Oddessey might be true about the false. Stanley Kubrick was for telling the rise of the "smart phone" and its effects, by showing us the beginning scene with the crazied chimp like apes that looked up and saw the Monolith and then the bones and stones started flying. Yes, and they acted like all the apes that rushed to the apple store beating each other to the door to get the newest version.
A digital tv is just a larger Monolith hung up sideways without a touchable interface...yet. Think walfart on "black friday"
Why no interface? Because the viewer is its "interface" all the while the programming is going on...
Tell a vision, as long as its not your unique vision...lol and at this moment I am typing this on a dumb phone. What a world. So until we get our telepathic senses back or developed, Im like everyone else with my neck wopperjawed. Dont have the metrics to prove it, but I bet the Chiropractors have been moving up the Medical food chain since the advent of the Smart phone, eventually to the top because of "droop head " syndrome issues. Haha

I'm going to post this comment as part my next article. Thanks for starting my inspirable engine this morn.
@everittdmickey was at least the meal satisfying?

was at least the meal satisfying?
meh.
wasn't bad...but not near as good as some TruckStops I've eaten at in the past.
To be fair...all those truckstops (Full meal, drink, tip the waitress good...$5.00) are gone now. They've been bought by big chains.
It seems to me that everything is 'corporate plastic' today.
Kinda sad.

Lol!
Well see, the krill will eventually grow legs, crawl up on land and digest the plastic corporations and after that we will all dine on the Krill without smart phone anywhere near us, that reminds me I haven't gone to red lobster in years

Smiles.. Even me, the way am addicted to my phone, I can not do others things when I started with my phone.. So is general oooo..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05