Discord Introducing Video Chat + Screen Sharing – Two Of Skype’s Biggest Strengths Are Gone For Me (Opinion Piece)

in #discord7 years ago (edited)

DiscordVideoScreen.png

A few days ago, Discord announced video chat and screen sharing. Five percent of the user base have been slowly getting the new Discord video feature, and I just got it a few moments ago.

I have long been a fan of Discord as a chat and community app. I actually rarely use Skype anymore, because Discord and other communication clients just runs much smoother and are more intuitive to use for me. Skype’s remaining strengths was in my opinion video chat and screen sharing made easy. It allowed you to give a bit of tech support to your friends and family. Now, with Discord rolling this out, I see no reason why I would prefer Skype for anything, other than talking with people, that haven't taken the leap to newer, more feature-full, apps.

The thing that might hold Discord back (but at the same time is its strength) is that Discord consider themselves a gamer application, making it easy for game clans and guilds to organize and talk together while playing. I see no reason, why it cannot be adopted as a main chat client, for every daily chat purpose.

Creating Discord communities is kind of a simplified and free version of Slack. What Slack currently does better is making it easy to share code, and there is many work related apps, that you can add to Slack, which makes communication between developers (and others) more streamlined.

Currently I use Discord, Slack and Telegram the most, and every now and then I visit Steemit.chat too. I am looking forward to seeing Steemit community features being implemented, to see, what its all about, and whether or not the features can overtake all the above especially for chatting with folks from Steemit.

Video chat and screen sharing will be for PM's with up to ten people (but the team claim that we might experience lower quality after 5 people at the same time).

Read more in the official announcement

Do you still use Skype? Will Discord (or other apps), in your opinion take over, if they implement Skype features and more? I hope to hear your opinion in the comments below.

Sort:  

I'm behind anything that helps take skype down lol. @teamhumble and I usually use a combo move of fleep (slack alternative) and appear.in to stay in touch and talk to clients, but at this point I don't see why discord couldnt be an all in one for small teams or folks that can't afford slacks team fees.

Also Discords promo videos are amazing 😂 Thanks for sharing!

Hey @dayleeo, long time no see.

I have not tried fleep (sounds like something from Rick and Morty) nor appear.in, but I don't really have clients to video chat with either. Discord can certainly be used as a simple Slack alternative as long as it stays free, which they promise the "core functionality" will always be.

And thanks for reading, hope you are well!

It does sound like something mr meeseeks would use! ;)

No I remembered what it was, I was thinking about! ;D
http://rickandmorty.wikia.com/wiki/Fleeb

BAhahaha!! I remember that- damn I need to catch up on that show

yeah i'm pretty excited to try video over a game with my partner so we can record that video or stream it out. hoping the UI and look is good. btw, you ever tried appear.in for video chat? it's frickin awesome and you don't need a login to use it, great for sharing with family and clients who don't know how to use a computer very well! :)

Hi @teamhumble. No I haven't tried appear.in, but you two seem to really like it! You can stream video chat via Open Broadcaster Software on top of a game, but maybe Discord will make it more convenient.

Thanks for reading!

yeah i use obs a lot. i'm excited to see what discord brings because when i game with my other half we have discord open already for voice comms so it's perfect.

I hate Skype, it is necessary evil atm for me. Mobile app is bad, desktop program is resource intensive....
Just recently tried Discord, mostly for gaming and it was decent. Now with screen share and video call I might even consider to switch once for all

Yep, Skype is a slug in comparison. But people still use it, so you kind of have too as well.

Awesome! I look forward to trying it out soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09