Discord Tip: Save Your Discord Backup Codes for 2FA, or You Might Get Locked Out of Your Account (Like Me)

in #discord6 years ago

My phone (android on CM12) had an issue months ago and all the data was wiped. Which means I lost all my 2FA codes for all the exchanges and for Discord. I didn't realize or remember that there was two-factor authentication enabled on my account, as I would login automatically each time I opened the app in the past.

I didn't try to get on Discord until a few days ago. I figured it would let me in like all the previous times. But that wasn't the case: I was locked out of my account, with no 2FA code to let me log in.

discord-locked-out.jpg

Apparently, I made a mistake of not getting the Discord backup codes in case of the event where I would lose the 2FA on my phone.

discord-2fa-locked-out.jpg

Discord has no contact page, email or direct support option from their site. They do support from their twitter account. I read on their support page, and was told by their twitter account, that I can't get into my account with the backup codes if my 2FA is no longer available on my phone.

Discord has no method to recover an account if you lose 2FA. I find that pretty lame...

I still have my password, and it lets me advance to the authentication screen for 2FA. I don't understand why they can't disable 2FA on my account, like I asked to be done for Bittrex so that I could log back in.

I don't know why I ever bothered to turn on 2FA on Discord...

All the other chat apps I've used in the past don't have it, and it seems like a needless level of security just for a chat app, unless you're really worried about someone gaining access to you password and logging in without 2FA...

If you use Discord or plan to in the future, please don't make my mistake, and do get your backup codes from the Settings.

I'll probably get another account, with another email since I can't use my main email, and then I will have to find my way back to the lost channels/groups I had previously... :/

So be vigilant, and get those backup codes when you enable 2FA on some site or app. You don't want to be in a position where something happens and you are locked out (forever, it seems, on Discord).

Take care everyone. Peace!

Sort:  

I've been trying to verify my discord account now for almost a month. The error they give all the times is that email provided is already in use. Quite strange for me.

Regarding 2FA, the 12 characters key is what is required to get it working for you. You lose it, you won't be able to login again. Recently, Google Authenticator was deleted from my phone accidentally and I had to recover my 2FA for different websites manually because I had saved the relevant keys for each one.

At least you had saved the relevant keys, good job! :)

sometimes I think not to use google authenticator. for reasons like the ones you describe. you cyanogenmod lovers also turns out, i am also a cyanogenmod fan. although cyanogenmod has closed and changed into Lineage, I remain faithful in cyanogenmod. especially cyanogenmod 11

Hehe, a fellow CM fan :)

i used discord for a shorter time unlikely you, it stoped working here in my country, i tried to use it again but all gone in vain.

Great post...
Thank for sharing...
Please upvote my post...

thats good i like this two factor authentication system this is a really good technology to get your account away from scammers

Locked 😋😋😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89