Toned Silver or Dirty Silver? Should I clean it?

in #dirtymoney6 years ago

I'm looking through my childhood coin collection, which used to be my Granddad's, and am finding some nice little pieces, like this 1952 Jan van Riebeeck tercentenary set.
20180721_080706.jpg
The coin on the left is copper, so I'm not to concerned with it, and it doesn't look so bad to me. It actually looks pretty good, I think. The coin the right is is about 17 grams .925 silver which looks quite weathered, obviously from being handled a bit too much.
20180721_080745.jpg

The reverse side is also not very good.
20180721_080826.jpg

It almost looks like it had been wiped or rubbed at some stage, but I can't really tell for sure.

My question to those in #steemsilvergold who have a lot more knowedge and experience than me is: Should I just leave the coins as they are, or is there some way of cleaning them up which would not decrease their value? I've read that coins should not be cleaned, or that cleaning them could degrade or damage the coins, and decrease their collectability value. I have quite a few dirty looking coins, probably not worth a lot from a collectable point of view, but wouldn't mind getting them looking a bit better if there is a safe way to do it. Like this one:
20180721_104357.jpg

Maybe I'll just keep buying shiny new coins instead... stay tuned to see what's on its way to me...

Let me know your views on whether I should try to get them cleaned, or just leave them as they are.

Thanks!





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Looking at that antique collector box and the set of coins contained inside, too me, the weathered and aged condition looks just right, it tells a story.

I have to agree with you on these coins. I remember them being a little shinier 25 odd years ago. It's a pity the toning is probably due to me playing with them as a youngster when I was given them.

Everything 25 years ago was shinier than today, you and your gruby paws, we just can't help touching the prize.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Do whatever you want! I suppose though if they are valueable then leave them be. If you want to enjoy them then clean away.

Yeah, that's what I was thinking, but don't want to damage them. That will take away any enjoyment of them.

Jan van Riebeeck our Dutch governor of South africa says "do not clean me please, I am old and that is ok".

Okay old man, no bath for you🤣🤣

The only possible reason for you to clean a coin is if it is junk silver. That way its value will not be less after cleaning. Even junk silver has some specific ways to be cleaned without scratching or chemical reactions.

Yeah the last thing I'd want to do is damage them, even if they're junk. Prehaps I will just leave them as they are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80