Would You Go Completely Paperless, Adapting To The World's Digital Future!?

in #digital-revolution7 years ago (edited)

Be More with Less? "The future you see, is the future you get!"

Arn't you tired of too much clutter and tons of paper you collect in your homes and offices over years?  I saved every contract, documents, bank statements, magazin articles, I even found printed emails, piled up for decades but last year I finally took the first step. I burnt most of those stuffed up folders in the back of my Balinese garden and Yes, I feel free!

How do you enjoy your life with less ? Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things

Image Source 

Are you still trapped? I wonder how will you transform your own world, maybe also go paperless those upcoming years? 

Here are the top 10 ways to go paperless, save trees, go green and make a positive impact to the planet!

The Struggle Between Quantity Versus Quality

Image Source

Make Room for Love!

I collected some tips:

- shoot your receipts on your phone and don't bring them home.
- stop printing things.
- use Instagram for photos
- go digital with banking and bills.
- find one place to store your files like me in Dropbox. 

Image Source

Exploring the world's digital future

Wow! I officially entered into the digital future, the crypto-space and so proud that I am capable to adjust to a different world.

Strive for freedom!

Image Source

I am free to go, wherever I want with the most important life data, stored in just 1 Mac Book Pro, boosted up to 1 huge terabyte space. Just imagine for a minute how amazing this really is. When I grew up I never thought this would be possible. We do not need to be tight to our desks anymore. We can read or write books on our tablets, travel and work, be creative, create artwork and music, keep in touch with dear friends wherever they are. 

Cisco Systems believes that in 2016 digitisation should be a priority, as technology strategies will play a critical role.- Source 

John Chambers, the executive Chairman of Cisco Systems, has been involved in building the infrastructure of the Internet since the 80's and on his trip to Doha he noted in Feb 2017 : "You're going to have three to five times the impact of the Internet in this new digital era. You can call it the fourth generation of technology or a digital revolution that every country, every city, every company in the world, every person goes digital". - Source 

Ten years ago, the number of devices connected to the Internet was under a billion. Now, that number has exploded to 20 billion and it will continue to increase. Mobile computing, driverless connected cars and interactive fridges are a reality.- Source

Image Source 

I do understand that it all sounds totally normal for our kids but its not for my mother and not even for me. Most of my friends and people of my generation, born late 50's are having a hard time to adapt and I am sure its difficult for many to let go of our ways. Recently, I had to explain to my oldest friend how to create a gmail account and that you can save your data in a cloud. 

We are the generation who used the first mobil devices and I couldn't even walk in my high heels, taking out the huge portable phone box, set up in my Peugeot 205 convertible but we were so proud with our mobil phone of those days. 

  

Image Source 

So, Please forgive! :) 

The first cellphone went on sale 33 years ago for $4,000 and I got the Motorola DynaTAC 8000X.

Image Source 

 

Image Source 

My message for the older generations : Embrace Change!

"In terms of the interconnectivity of our daily lives, Chambers offered an interesting point: "When Cisco started in 1984, there were 1,000 devices connected to the Internet. Today, there are 17 billion."In 10 years, 500 billion. The whole key is to get the right information, at the right time, to the right machine, to the right person to make the right decision. The end result will be new business models. You will probably live five to 10 years longer because we'll improve the quality of healthcare so much." - Source 

Of course it was not easy to change over those past years, catching up with new technologies, now even go paperless 1000% to let go off so many nostalgic items, especially paper books I love so much. 

I turned up my favourite music and destroyed every single bank statement( I felt great). I hesitated to throw away some of my paper pictures, even though most I already lost years ago in a New York storage. I still feel romantic over those and couldn't let go of them. 

It took me weeks to set apart the legal documents from paper clutter. Unfortunately we still need those original docs for government offices. Crazy enough, I lost that "important stuff" bag weeks after my arrival in my hometown and had to run around for weeks to get copies. What a nightmare!

Yesterday I heard about the Investment Punk Akademie based in Vienna and I was curious, started searching and ran into this Ted talk from 2015 which inspired me to reflect upon my progress what I do to embrace the future!

Sort:  

I could shoot you mammasitta. Here I sat reading your post about cleaning out the chaff of life, minimizing, and saving trees, and life moving on line and digital,,,,then I see the first set of comments between you and richq11.

I really am trying very hard to keep down the number of people I follow so that I can have Time to see what they are writing and time to learn from those I follow.

Oh no you and @richq11 get into it about, of all things, pen and paper writing. I do not write, I read. I love reading. Now you have inadvertently introduced me to another writer. That was bad enough, it could have stopped at that point, but NO, I just had to keep reading.

And what do I find? The title of what sounds like it may be a good read. But it was not just the title. NO it had to have a III after it. Yes book 3. So now I know there is a series going on. A story that last longer than one book.

And the title The Night Gods III. I have read just a couple of lines, so now, now, I Need to read it. Damn you, one more to follow.

Great post mammasitta, I am not going to read anymore of the comments,(yeah like thats going to happen), because I don't want to be sucked down another rabbit hole, and God knows you have enough followers like @richq11, to lead an army down all those holes. Have a great day, and thanks for the post.

Hahahahahhhhhh I love those kind of steemian real people :) Can't say more than its awesome knowing you !!!!!! Now you are on top of the comments list.

Good post my dear... My problem is that I can't write fiction without pen and paper. When I tried to write dialogue on the computer, it comes out stiff and wooden like- "Hello, Bob how are the wife and children" ... "They are just fine Jim, thank you for asking."

When I do it on paper it flows better- more conversationally- "Hey Bob, how's the wife and kids?" It's from years of academic writing where contractions are a no-no! So...

I hear you because I feel the same. Oh, how do I miss the sound of a vinyl ! scratchy and real !

I'm getting a big scary knot growing on my knuckle of my "writing finger." It's hard as bone (that must be what it is). I go through 1 or 2 pens a week. I have my writing ritual... I get up at 2:30 or 3:00 AM, get my coffee, put on a Charlie Chan movie on YT (my morning Chan) grab my notebook and go to work!

I can't even write anymore with a pen.
I admire that old school authors rituals!
That's why you are a great writer!
How did it go with your power down?
I am thinking of doing it as well.
I spend too much time on the laptop since I am in steemit. My back hurts every day even though I balance it.

The response to my post was so incredible I didn't have to power down much. The first allotment was 365 (approx) steem so I cut it off there.

That's another reason I write with pen & paper- I can sit in my comfortable chair to write then I edit while typing it in. Thank you for your kind words!!! I'm already working on The Night Gods III (I have the concept/storyline in my mind) How's this... In the land of the blind, a one-eyed man may be king- but in the realm of the dead and dying, a spectre reigns supreme.

I hope you would get a book deal and I can get a nice book full with lots of classic paper :) that I can read the whole story at once. Bring it on Rich!

The guy that did the art work for NG II and I are doing it with I & II... He's doing the art and layout and I'm doing the text. That's why I'm doing a rewrite and repost on part I

thats awesome news !!!

All goes so fast !

Too fast for me

I can see you can adapt well to the internet kind of things,,but things imare bit different here,,even now a highschool kids having a gmhardtime to make a gmail account. ( have made for them alot of times)
i guess it will take more time in Bali. . .

Take it slow ! Just like the internet speed a few years ago and still now but all that will also change very fast in Indonesia soon.

Great post @mammasitta =)
I believe the only remedy to this would be to follow the steps of our ancestors, they wasn't polluted by a political, moral less, material system... Let's legalize the mother hemp... Before U.S Regan President & the deal they made with dupon chemist factory for nylon & cotton mono-poles plan, all book, clothes, ropes, boats kites & many other was all made from 100% pure hemp fibers.
With the cannabis plants we can reforest any place in less then a year!!!

Hopefully peoples will open them eyes & start to act the right way...

Big love, thx for sharing & caring ;)

BOOOOM!

I wish i could, but there are so many different government institutions that require to keep tons of useless invoices, reports, records and other shit that i think it is impossible at least for now. They adapt so slowly... And i enjoy reading a good paper book :) That is more of a luxury entertainment. Real, analogue, smells good and has it real feel :) So probably no, i could not live without paper. And don;t even know what i would do in a WC lol

Watch that clip at the bottom and you know what you could use instead of paper for your butt :) but hey I am with you on the old classic paper books, same goes for nice scratchy old vinyl. Its hard to let go but if you loose your stuff like I did, moving around, you might have to be more flexible and let go of those piles of pages and start reading pdf files :( grrrrr, I know I know .....I can't wait until I get a sweet robot reading for me because I am "blind" without my reading glasses and its hard to read late night.

I read my newspaper online but when it comes to reading or learning then there is nothing better than the smell of a fresh book.

I agree with you 1000% but I realize that slowly I am changing ....

I went digital for banks ---> they keep sending me letters. I guess they love to spend.

I was thinking of an apple pro for drawing recently saves a ton in paints and paper for drawing and doodling.

Of course the real paint is the thing that produces marvels, steem on mamma sitta!!

They better stop wasting too much paper and rather use it for their toilets hahaha !
Please don't give up using real paint and canvas 🤣🌺

An excellent article and advice in it @mammasitta, I agree with you that the future will soon turn into an electronic form and paper red tape will be a thing of the past!

We are right in the middle and just wait until we all get private AI robots reading is from our favourite books . Damn! It goes all way to fast

@mammasitta,
Yes, the digital future will finish the paper works completely. But yeah we need paper works!
Anyway now the money already converted to the digital currencies like crypto also! Everything will change to the paperless world as it is... but it will take time :D
Great article and great discussion! Really appreciate your effort!

Cheers~

We are right in the middle of the digital revolution and I can't barley keep up with it all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30