"Same Kind of Different As Me" Movie Review

in #different4 years ago

I read the book "Same Kind of Different as Me" and watched several videos online before watching the movie. The film focuses on how Ron, Deborah and Denver met while on a mission in Texas. The story began with a dream that Deborah had to befriend a particular homeless person. In the process of restoring a wounded marriage, they began volunteering in their local rescue mission.

As the friendship develops, the three lives change. The key point in helping the homeless is to invest in a long term life. Denver explained it through a fishing sentence. He said he didn't want a catch and release friendship. The film ends with Deborah's funeral and the dedication of a new chapel at the mission in her memory.

The book went much deeper into the story of each of their lives and experiences together for a decade. I was glad I read it first. If I hadn't read it, it would have just been a good movie. The book has poured out their souls.

I have a young woman in my life who I can relate to like this movie. We can certainly see the hand of God in our lives over time. Decades later, we are starting to see the fruit of the seeds planted.

A mission is a great place to meet. I volunteered for four years on a mission and it was a great experience. I would, however, keep in mind that while this is a great story, please keep safety as a top priority, especially when children are involved.

Even if you don't have any money to give, just your time and friendship can do great things. I've had some great chats with guys I've interacted with in Maryland. I told them they had nothing to fake and that I was proud of them for completing the program. They told me when they got there that they were going to leave, but when they saw me coming after work to volunteer in my own time, it made them stay because they saw that I really cared about myself.

If you want to see the change in the world, get involved. Nothing changes if you are left alone. We all need someone, even if we don't know it. God can do great things if we listen to the nudges he sends us. I have witnessed it in my life. He can do it for you. You can find your way back with a little help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82