My ramblings about determination

in #determination6 years ago

How do we quantify determination? How do we decide if one person is more determined than another? Is there a set of rules or criteria that dictate one's level of determination?

I was sitting reflecting on what I've achieved this year as well as what I want to accomplish next year and I can safely say that without determination, I would have failed. I wanted to get a head start with my 2018 goals so I pulled out my scribble book and opened to a fresh page. After about 35minutes I was staring at a page that had many little subheadings and notes with projected figures for the year. On the next page I had all kinds of intangible things that I want to accomplish next year and when I stepped back to reflect on what I had written, I was a little overwhelmed. There is so much I want to accomplish next year, but I'm very aware of my time and my capabilities. There's no way I'll achieve everything perfectly, but I'll do damn well if I get anywhere near my goals. As specific and direct as they are I want those goals to function as a malleable guideline that I can bend and change as the year goes on.

The determination to continue toward the goals I set will be determined by how realistic and specific the goals are. If they're super unattainable then I'll call it quits before March hits. Most people fall for this trap by singing the "new year, new me" mantra. My ability to reflect each month on what went right and wrong will determine whether or not I carry on with what I'm doing. My choice in relationships will be a major factor in keeping me determined. Having nothing but materialistic contacts who want to do nothing but party and go on holidays will suck me dry financially and emotionally. I used to have friends like this and I always felt drained when the night/holiday was over. I'm lucky to have a very supportive girlfriend who keeps me focused when I stray from my goals. Half the time she isn't aware that she's helping me, but having a sober-minded soundboard really helps put things into perspective.

The support of my family has really helped me succeed this year. I've had moments where things were ultra bleak and I was on the brink of breakdown, but my family showed me that I had a whole lot more than I thought I did. They showed me that it's okay to stop and appreciate what God has given us every so often. I'm very grateful for them and I want them in my corner throughout 2018.

Physical health keeps us determined because physical health often manifests into mental health. Good mental health allows us to solve complex problems and improve our situations without having total meltdowns. To remain determined I'm going to continue to exercise at least every other day. Taking control of my weight and making sure I exercise frequently will result in fresher mornings and stronger flourishes toward the end of each day.

We all need truths and pillars that we align with to keep us determined. Think of them as your truth or the reason you do what you do. I'm a Physiotherapist by profession and I want to improve public health for the patients in the communities I work in. This is one of my reasons for doing what I do. I'm also a music producer and my goal is to uplift the entire South African Music industry by showing people how to make money from their craft as well as how to protect themselves from the unsavory, unavoidable facets of the music industry. These truths are sure to keep me going especially when the detractors come out of the woodwork. People have attempted to shoot my concepts and opinions down this year, but my core support and colleagues always helped me to stay determined.

Determination keeps us going. Determination means tapping into persistency which will allow you to relentlessly look for new solutions to problems you face. Determination also means tapping into consistency which allows you to complete daily tasks because you know that those tasks map to a larger goal.

Stay determined,
SB

LRM_EXPORT_20161114_223219.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71