You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are We Masters of Our Own Destiny or Influencers?

in #destiny7 years ago (edited)

My view on destiny is that, if I am a primary influencer of it, I am doomed, because everything I do is essentially random. My intro post explains, I flip a coin for almost every decision in my life, even the small ones so for everything I do I generally have to think of at least 2 good options and it doesn't leave a lot of room for thinking about the future with that level of branching. Sometimes I will have a series where everything I think to do, coin says no and my 15th or so option is the one I pick, then some random thing happens I never expected and on it goes. My theory is destiny on a global scale exists, and there is no way for humanity to escape what is coming.

Sort:  

It's good to be the primary influencers of our own lives. When you say random what do you mean exactly?

Basically the idea is to find two good options for anything, and randomly decide between them using various methods. If there are more than 2 some form of binary division is used where each toss of a coin eliminates half the options or more until only one remains, and in some cases the hands of my clocks or watches are used to find direction, such as any time I'm exploring some area or traveling, I leave my fate to the circumstances of the exact timing, so if the multiverse theories are correct I would be the kind of person that ends up in vastly different outcomes in very short time spans, but that isn't the reasoning behind it, I'm more interested in my own theory that something in our future is looking back on us.

The multiverse theory is not testable and observable.

That's true, I think of it as an interesting concept although I don't base my actions on that but rather my own ideas instead. I think something in the future is controlling the probabilities based on the anomalies I see almost every day, and it at least vaguely seems to be on my side so I haven't stopped since day one, even though there were many instances where that could have easily happened.

By a definition of the word random in this context, it means that, in terms of cause and effect, an effect must occur without any cause. In a deterministic universe, this is impossible.

At least, until you get into quantum theory :-)

Yes an effect cannot occur without a cause. Nothing is random.

So if It's random paradox, could you do me and yourself a favour...or an experiment?
Instead of flipping a coin, could you ask your gut or your Intuition next time the same you would do with a coinflip?

For an hour or a day, and than respons to this post?

coin said not to try that, three times in a row ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.02
ETH 2696.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87