Design a Character Contest - Season 9 - H.R. Giger Style - Dark Gamer

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

23cover.jpg

A late entry

To the design character contest organised by @w0olf. I decided to go for H.R. Giger style because I think im more familiar with his work since my college days and im not that 'artsy' type. I kinna take things literally and cartoony of sort haha.

Process

Yesterday night when I bumped into the contest I just made a rough sketch on what kinna character that im doing. Turned out its gonna be some sort of evil doode haha.
IMG-4797.JPG

And in the morning I think Im gonna do a gamer so I grab my controller and planning to make my character hold it. And then I think hey....Ready Player One is playing and maybe Im subliminally influenced by the idea haha.
IMG-4794.JPG

I couldve brought the photo in Photoshop and trace it but wheres the fun of tracing? tsk tskk... So I put on my awesome pencil sketching skill to work and tadaaa! One of the thing that I put into use in this one is the use of core shadows which Ive just learned yesterday from one of the online tutorial vids

(Its good to be an artist in this time coz everything is just a little keyboard type away...compare to the time when I started...sigh) Ok enough talking history old man *slapfacesound
IMG-4803.JPG
Well ok I suck at drawing hands and fingers...and every other human parts for that matter haha..

Paint stages GIF

And of course I dumped everything into the magical Photoshop and let the magic begins! Everything took around 8 hours on and off
output_kIYu6b.gif

Final piece

23.jpg

THANKS FOR DROPPING BY! and thanks @w0olf for organising and awesome contest :)

#steem-cartoon #teammalaysia FTW!

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85