3d printed Batarang Spinner - Fusion360 Video Tutorial

in #design7 years ago (edited)

My son asked me today if I could design and print a Batarang Spinner for him and I liked the idea immediately.

Bat.gif

First I looked for a good reference image of a Batarang in order to create an .svg file for use in Fusion 360. The spinner does need various thicknesses, therefore I split the sketch using curves.

Screen Shot 2017-09-24 at 13.32.34.png

I also uploaded a video on DTube to shows the basic design steps. Unfortunately the video didn't appear to play so I uploaded it again on YouTube.

See Youtube Tutorial here

It was a very simple design and didn't take longer than about 5 minutes. The final thing to do after the design was completed in Fusion was to slice the model and send it to the 3d printer.

Model sliced in Slic3r
Screen Shot 2017-09-24 at 15.11.59.png

About 50 minutes later the print was complete.

DSC_0113.jpg

Last thing was to insert a skateboard bearing and the Batarang was ready for a spin.

DSC_0115.jpg

The design has been uploaded to Thingiverse in case you like to print it yourself.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Full 100% and resteemed :-)

Thank you @welovesteemit, I appreciate it.

sweet!

Cool and resteemed :-)

Vielen Dank @lichtblick

Congratulations my dear @tarekadam. Nice to see this video. It`s include very important concepts. Cheers~
Have a great day....
100% Upvoted & ReSteemed

Thank you very much @madushanka

You are mostly welcome...

The Batarang Spinner looks incredible he must be happy seeing this :D

Thank you, yes he was very happy.

beautifull design my friend and good working..

Congratulations @tarekadam, Great tutorial!
I can imagine the happiness of your son. I have a nephew who would love to have a Batarang Spinner like the one you designed for your child, from the simple things always come up good and great ideas.
Keep it up! :)

Thank you very much

wow i love the design..
great tutorial..
Thanks

very good post and useful ......

Nice one. Dein Kind wird sicher mit der Zeit noch ein paar ausgefallenere Dinge wollen :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94