ΔOS

in #deos6 years ago

3 minutes
Disclaimer: I do not have insider information with ATD. The information in this blog may be false, as it is speculation from observation.

On Sunday, @theonevortex interviewed @DeSantis once again. If you’re unfamiliar with Andrew Desantis, there’s a lot to say. He’s currently programming a decentralized operating system built atop Bitcoin (https://github.com/desantisinc/deoscore). Treats his Bitcoin keys like multidimensional seeds of life. You know, regular Bitcoin stuff. Well in this blog post I would like to try to peak beneath the tip of the iceberg. Join me?

DeSantis is a Bitcoin veteran. He has improved the space with many contributions, one of them being Bitcoin.Team. Financial sovereignty has enabled Andrew to pursue projects with 100% control, determination, vision and freedom. He is presently using this privilege to benefit the “family unit”, in the form of developing DeOS.

The languages of intelligence (writing) and self-interest (money) are the
mind’s greatest creations; both must be decentralized or all is lost.
[—DeSantis][004]

Immutable

not capable of or susceptible to change

Once a block is deep enough in the Bitcoin blockchain, it becomes immutable. None can reverse the information preserved. It requires too much energy to do so. If I understand correctly, Andrew has figured out a way to use machine language on top of the immutable blocks in Bitcoin. Not just the trunk, but all proceeding forks. In quantum fashion. I’ll get back to that some day (will I?).

It’s evident to us that security in IT can always be improved. Presently, when my computer boots up, it does so through read-only information preserved in my computer. This has been revealed to be insecure, on some level, as it is open to tampering.

Imagine for a moment if, instead of booting from what I hope to be a secure BIOS, I could boot my computer from the Bitcoin blockchain. Mind boggling, right?

Now apply this model of thinking to infosec as a whole.

I’m still working to compile DeOS from source. I’m absolutely not a person of authority on this topic; I just can’t stand by idly while it’s going over everyone’s heads. Decentralized operating systems are already being used. And it may turn out to be the only secure way to operate in an insecure environment. Let’s start a conversation. Let’s get people compiling this from source. It’s our responsibility to build the future we believe to be good.

… Want to go deeper? https://twitter.com/desantis/status/923265685362536448

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30