It's been an interesting day in the Dash Slack

in #dash7 years ago

So I finally gave in and joined the Dash Slack, not really one for chatting because I already do that for a living but I needed some help with the Jaxx wallet. By the way I'm not recommending that wallet anymore, use Exodus.io instead and please remember that's not exoduswallet.io.

Anyways, I got to see the governance system at work today. To be honest I've been a little concerned about some accusations from Steemit users where they are saying Dash is censoring them. I came to Steemit running from censorship so I wouldn't want to be associated to it.

But today I saw a call for action on the Dash Slack and I jumped in the action. It was some article on Cointelegraph, which by the way last I checked was looking into selling to Times, I believe. I honestly don't remember exactly who was trying to buy it, one of my lovers used to write for them when they were starting out, but I do remember it was mainstream media that wanted the publication. Don't know what came to be later on, if they ever sold or not.

In Slack they were offering tips for high value comments on this article, not 2 minutes later someone was complaining about this and calling it trolling. This person insisted that paying to comment in favor of Dash equals trashing other coins...

From the start I could tell this guy was out for trouble, later we would see how he took a screenshot of the call to action and attached it to the conversation on Cointelegraph. His intention was to make others believe Dash is paying people to attack other coins, which I don't think it's turning out to well for him because the likelihood is more people will join Slack to see if they can pay for commenting too, hahaha.

But what really got my attention from this all, is that despite the fact that the guy was being very irrational as I don't know a single company that's worth anything and doesn't have a team to look after its reputation, people in the channel were still being nice to him. They tried to explain that Dash wasn't encouraging insults or lies, they tried to explain it to him many times. Even after he took that screenshot, as if it were a secret he was revealing to the world. Dash Slack moderators had every opportunity to remove this person but they haven't yet to my knowledge.

I honestly don't know if I would have the temper, the temper to deal with someone who is just looking to provoke. Even though I might have handled it differently, I was pleased to see that whoever is managing the communication lines seem to be more collected than me.

No longer am I concerned about Dash censoring though I will keep an eye out for this should it ever change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17