Seeds of racism

in #damn6 years ago

One senior associate asked me to turn my avocado boxes sideways to make more space. It was late in the day, and I just did them later so he would not see and so as not to disrespect him. He starts work at 7AM; I start 3AM. Things are easier when he does not see them loaded.

Along came a younger understudy. Immediately they break into Spanish. I cannot understand, but I get context clues. Nonverbal communication said, 'Don't pack them his way. He's just the crazy black guy in the cooler.'

Immediately I saw young Anakim on hands and knees shoving avocado boxes into the base of aluminum cabinets; think makeshift, empty aluminum refrigerator.

Defamation of character aside, not to mention nepotism (different story)..three days later, the white man who received an email from one of our cafes said, a lady hurt her back trying to retrieve said avocado box from said cabinet. The white man asked me what I thought about standard practices? There were none. So much for doing things the right (Spanish) way. All the crazy black man had to do was, keep his mouth shut.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02