WHEN YOUR SITUATION GETS PUBLIC ATTENTION, MAKE IT A SUCCESS

in #dairy6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180714_215833.jpg

I remember when I left the village to stay with my uncle in the city after the death of my dad, I was enrolled in a primary school in my first term in primary four. My performance was so poor that term that I was made a laughing stock throughout the holiday period in our quarters in Abuja. I had sleepless nights because I was the least performing student in our quarters.

We had this big brother (a neighbor) who was schooling in university of Jos back then, he made jest of me on daily basis that I do cry to the point of contemplating suicide because it was like a stigma to me. Only few will understand what it means to be called "THIRTY KASHI" (thirty shit)

All I needed at that time was someone to lean on, but no one cares to know what my problem was.

One was, INFERIORITY COMPLEX. I was a village boy in the mids of city guys who saw me as low life among them because my spoken English wasn't sound like theirs

Secondly, I was having severe eye problem that I hardly see what's written on the board but wasn't given so much attention health wise at home if I complain

At this point, I began missing my dad more than ever and felt I could get across to my mum to be under her loving care but all seems to be a mirage

Few months after, I adjusted to the northern winds of Abuja and I could see the blackboard clearly. I got a friend I could count on and share ideas with. I can remember we would go far away into the bush to sit under trees to read our books and solve assignments

The second term results came out and I moved from THIRTY KASHI to third position and my uncle and neighbours couldn't believed what they saw. I could remember telling my uncle's son to keep quiet and stop comparing his result with mine as his average was 75% while mine was 90%

I could remember one of our senior boys by name Solomon Ufot (Ini) carrying me on his neck when I took first position in third term (I finally broke thirty Kashi barrier) My village people ntoorr..............

And it never stopped there because the Lech John Paul that was an object of mockery in his first two months in Abuja became a point a point of reference in academic excellence

Big bro in university of Jos got shocked when he returned back from school and he became my best friend and academic mentor in my early years. He took it upon himself and was buying me books and bags

My poor performance gave me basis to leverage on to avoid becoming a failure. First by curbing inferiority complex, then making friend/friends that I study with to learn and share ideas thus facing the then reality (good academic performance)

If life gives you lemon, make lemonade out of it.

Your failure to rise after a fall could make you a failure, so rise up and keep moving forward for success will surely come if you don't stop moving!!

Lech John Paul
2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89