Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 12/30/18> It is time again for New Year Resolutions… have you done yours yet?

in #dailydose5 years ago (edited)

Time is running out...

Time is running out on 2018 and counting today that means there are only two days left in the year. I am pretty smart when it comes to figuring out stuff like that, December has 31 days and the 30th so…. never mind. Two days left is all there are and this is the time to sit down and get those New Year resolutions done if you don’t want to start the year off on a bad foot.

How many of...

How many of you do actually write down New Years resolutions? Most people talk a good game about New Year’s resolutions and how they are going to quit smoking or quit drinking and the one everybody has on their list is to lose weight. I wish I had a dime for every New Year’s resolution that has ever been made.

If I did; I believe I would have enough money to buy my own country. It might be a good time to do that if I did have the money since several countries are flat broke and plenty of others are at the doorstep of broke.

So how far do you normally get into the year before you end up breaking your New Year’s resolutions?

Really; you expect me to believe that?

I am not going to call anyone a liar here but….

How many broken...

How many broken NYR’s do have to go through before you are going to get smart and ditch that tradition of setting yourself up for failure? That is all NYR’s are, (a setup for you to fail), and when that happens then you have to deal with all of the emotions of letting yourself down.

Last year...

Last year I got a real kick out of reading posts about NYR’s and how the people were really going to make meaningful changes in their lives in 2018 using NYR’s. Let me give you tip, if you need to use NYR’s as reason do something, then you aren’t ready to do it. There may be one or even two of you that this wouldn’t apply too but you would be the exception rather than the rule.

One lady in...

One lady in particular that I got into discussion with about NYR’s told me that she was joining a gym, going to lose weight, get fit and document her results in a weekly post on her blog. I think that lasted maybe all of 5 or 6 weeks and then it was history. I hope she didn’t join one of those gyms’s that require a life time membership.

Last year I...

Last year I gave people the advice to throw away their NYR’s and never make another one and I am giving that same advice today. Going from 2018 to 2019 isn’t going to magically change who you are and your habits. I learned several years ago that NYR’s are only a good thing for people in the business of fitness and it is a short lived boost to their business.

If you decide...

If you decide to not take my advice that is fine with me. Here is another tip for those of you in that boat, don’t set any goals. The let down when you fail will be double that of just failing on your NYR’s. Do you really need to compound the feeling of failure by including unattainable goals?

I have been...

I have been down that road before and it isn’t a trip that I would suggest for anyone. Just keep yourself planted on the couch and dream; it is much safer there for your well being.

Lifting weights can really cause injury and most people try to overdo things when they get started; so just keep lifting your weights in 12 ounce cans or 20 ounce bottles. The key to lifting is not how much weight you can lift but how many repetitions you can do, so buy a twenty four pack instead of a twelve pack of your favorite beverage.

Now this advice...

Now this advice I am giving might not set well with some of you and I understand that. Some might even decide to make a NYR to never read another Daily Dose of Sultnpapper and I can’t stop you from doing that. But knowing how things work, I look forward to seeing you back here around the middle of February.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose. Be sure to check out this post by a rare breed around here (a new comer to steemit) so check her out here and let's welcome her https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@itsfall173/my-introduction-post-bawktxlv

Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

I have a little tradition that I do on NYE. I always write down in a notebook what my goals are for the following year, and I read back over the previous goals from the year before and see what I was able to achieve!
Usually, I manage to complete about a third of the goals. The others... well lets say they were put aside for another time haha
2019 is going to be a crazy year for me as I have lots happening with the dogs... Dog shows, Crufts, Obtaining my breeders licence and breeding hopefully 2 litters... so these are the kinds of things that go on my list. Weight loss is an ongoing thing for me and I try to live a healthy lifestyle. I don't write these things on my list as I am constantly trying to be healthier and if I set myself goals I will set myself up to fail.
I think it is fun to look back over the previuos year and see just what I have acomplished. I don't see it as a failure if I haven't done the things on my list, I just re-evaluate if those things are still important to me. If they are, they go on the new list! :D
Happy New Year to you, here's to a prosperous 2019!
Cheryl <3

That sounds like a great idea. One of my friends wrote something positive on a small piece of paper every single day of last year, and put all the pieces of paper in a china pot. Then she read through them on New Year's Day. It sort of sounds like a nice idea, but I think I'd find it a bit boring looking through hundreds of scraps of paper. I'd rather just look at a list, and hopefully there would be a few achieved goals! (Or destinations.)

Destinations are better than goals, when you have hard fast drop dead dates for goals it makes for making only 80% of what you set out to do look like a failure.
Going with destinations sets where you want to end up but doesn't penalize you for making a detour or two on the way to get there, does it really make a difference if you are two days or two months late in arriving at the destination you set?
It doesn't really, unless there is a banker involved waiting for his share of your money.
Destinations are the better way to go in my opinion, and it looks like you have the same outlook on that from what I read.

Yes!!! :D Destinations are a much better way of describing them! That is going to be my new heading for the 2019 list! 'Destinations for 2019...'
Love it! :)

Glad that I could help.

I'm with you on this one, new year's resolutions are just another version of... I'm starting gym on Monday...or I'm going on a new diet on Monday...but I have decided that from today I will try to broaden my Steemit journey by reading posts by people outside my favourite circle!
Will start by checking out the one you recommend here, so thank you for that!

Great minds think alike as I will be trying to bring those recommended posts from people that I follow that aren't really in our regular circles at least half of the time.
NYR's are just a set up for failure for most people, glad to know you see it that way as well... that great minds thing again there.

When I started to feel better from my illness I was suddenly overwhelmed by all the various tasks I had to do. I started to write a big to-do list, even marking out daily time schedules to get the various tasks done. Then I realised I'd kind of unintentionally written a list of New Year Resolutions.
I don't usually do NYRs, but I think I need to at least attempt them this year, just to get through my workload :/ At least most of the tasks - if carried out properly - should be completed in the first half of the year!

Glad you are starting to feel better, I noticed you had been missing from both posting and commenting, welcome back and Happy New Year.
I wouldn't exactly consider that NYR's , your list. If it is stuff you need to do and no way around it, it is just life at the new year.
Thanks for dropping in.

Thanks! And a Happy New Year to you too!

I am one of those one or two people that will be successful with my NYR.

Seriously. I've had the same resolution for the past 20 or so years and I am and 2 with it. Though I have to admit that I only made it to the 10th of January on one of the fails. The other one lasted to June.

"I shall not wear a necktie in the year 2019".

The two failures were my Sister-In-Laws funeral and a trip down the aisle. Not mine, but a friend asked me to walk her down the aisle and rented a tie for me. What could I say? She rented the whole tux for me actually so I could ride my motorcycle to the wedding guilelessly. Pretty nice girl...

I do have a weight goal, too. Of course that is a long term thing that wasn't a NYR but I am about 2.5 LBS from my goal of 100 kilos. It'll be the lightest I've been since I got married. The first time. In 1973 :)

So. I'm sure my life will change in 2019, there is just no doubt about it. But my NYR won't have a thing to do with the changes. Again.

But to show just how dedicated I am to keeping my NYR I could post a video I made to apply for a position. I wore a clean (brand new out of the package) white t shirt with a belt tied in a nice windsor knot around my neck. You see, the tie I wore to my SILs funeral ended up knotted around the top plumbing on a urinal where her wake was held and it was the only one I owned. No, I wasn't drinking. Just seemed the right idea at the time.

In my brother's words "We are going to have a party for Gail. Her wishes, and I agree. I have been in mourning for the last two years of her brain cancer."

On the off chance that I don't see you again before: Happy New Year to you and yours.

Happy New Year to you as well. I pretty much figured that you would be one of the two. You have great discipline and that is what it takes to succeed with making NYR and holding to it.
That is great you are so close to your weight destination, if it weren't for the tamale festival you might have made it this year.
Here is to a great '19, and may you keep your NYR's. (raising my glass of milk now.)
Adios.

I used to make New years Resolutions and failed miserably with many of them, but about ten years ago I made one that I nailed and that was to never make another New years Resolution and for 10 years or more I have stuck to it, infact its longer than that it was before I met my wife and that was over 16 years ago :)

There you go, that might be the best and easiest one to keep.

You are a hoot @sultnpapper! I love your advice, although I have to say, I did keep my resolutions in 2019. Be good to yourself, exercise regularly (didn't say how often) and make intentional choices about food...surprisingly I did well, dropped weight, blood pressure is lower than it has been in 35 years and I feel better! Love your advice!!!! Happy New Year!

I don't know that I can trust what you are telling me Birdie, we haven't even reached 2019 yet and you have kept all your resolutions for that year ? I am going to have to think about that one for a while...
But I am glad you love the advice...

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 356 (12/30/18)

I'm not one for writing down NYR's... BUT I've done this thing as the stroke of midnight approaches on NYE since I was in my early twenties...I think of ONE thing in that very moment that I'd like to accomplish in that next year and hold it in my mind as we cross the threshold into the next year.

I'm happy to say my success rate has been close to 100% using that method for the past, nearly, 30 years. Although, in hindsight, that ONE thing hasn't always been difficult to accomplish to begin with. : )

Happy New Year!

hahaha people are going to make a NYR to stop reading the daily dose! lol.. hey that would be pretty rude if they said that to you. I never make any and don't even think about making any.

Oh well, if it happens it happens, but the good news like I said, most NYR's don't last past six weeks.

The thing about New Years' Resolutions is most of them are based on a "should" message ---> I should lose weight. I should stop drinking so much, etc. Psychologists note that these types of messages come from what they define as The Critical Parent ---> the part of you that nags and criticizes and condemns and generally gripes about all your flaws. (The way your parents may have treated you when you were growing up.)

This immediately triggers The Rebellious Child in us all -- and greatly reduces the chances of compliance. Your idea of a destination rather than a goal is lots more positive -- and stands a much better chance of success. But the fact is ... if your NYR was something you really wanted to do ... you'd already be doing it. So, looking at your real motives ... and the "voice" behind why you think it would be a grand idea ... can help a lot. (What are you trying to do with this NYR? Please yourself? Or placate the Inner Critic?)

The reasons why you overeat -- or practice other bad, even self-destructive, habits -- are way too complex to be solved with just a vague desire to "do better." Getting down to the roots of the problem can take some real serious work -- and people are notoriously resistant to change. These are a few of the reasons why these lovely NYRs rarely happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85