Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/19/18> She must have been really hollering… seriously.

in #dailydose6 years ago

What a long day...

What a day Tuesday was for the old Sult N Papper and a long one at that. My day started out early at home and ended late when I checked into my room in San Antonio at 10:35 PM. In between those hours there were plenty of things that took place that I could write about like how I had the area business manager from corporate working with me on Tuesday.

Our first appointment...

She got into town shortly after noon and our first appointment was a lunch with a good client of ours that she hadn’t had the pleasure to meet before. She is a native Texan and graduated from Texas A&M University, people who graduate from there are known as “Aggies”. The university is big on their football program and not that long ago the university made the move into the SEC Conference where some powerhouse football programs are known to exist like Alabama and LSU.

Texas A&M vs. Alabama...

Most people who know college football didn’t think A&M belonged in that conference and would get their butts kicked week in and week out when playing the teams like Alabama and LSU. The first year in the conference A&M shocked Alabama and beat them with a freshman at quarterback named Johnny Manzel, he would go on to win the Heisman Trophy that year as the best player in college football. He earned the nickname “Johnny Football.” Later he would be a bust in the NFL, a real story of talent that drank himself out of a job.

Watching a prize fight...

The customer we had lunch with has some football history himself; he played his college football at Alabama. Since A&M and Alabama have fast become rivals I felt like a referee watching a prize fight and making sure the fight was clean. Those two are some real college football fans and it was almost funny as each tried to tear down the other’s football program. There wasn’t much business discussed at lunch but there was a wager made on this weekend’s game as the two schools play each other on Saturday over in Alabama.

But I am not going to tell that story about those two and lunch.

Crazy guy named Cap...

I won’t tell the story about the afternoon we spend at one of our distributor locations and the crazy guy named Cap who works for a local parks department. He talked our ears off over at the distributor location for nearly two hours. He works at the local park where I have some history and since it is bordered on it’s north side by Cypress Creek, which was a major flood area during hurricane Harvey last year, he had to give me an update on how the park came out of the storm.

My work survived Harvey...

Back in the early 1980’s when I was a contractor I was a pretty good stone mason and did quite a bit a of stone work at that park building stone planters and stone walls. So he made sure to tell me how all the work I did survive the flooding but some other stone work some other folks did didn’t fare as well and needed extensive repairs so that made feel pretty good about that work from years ago.

Finally I had to just cut him off since we had another stop we had to make down the road before that distributor closed for the day. So I am not going to tell that story either, since it would look like I would be trying to brag about just how good of stone work I use to do. So forgive me for not mentioning that part of the day.

I'll skip dinner too...

I will skip right over dinner too where we took another group to dinner at a local steak house as a reward for them winning a sales contest we had earlier in the summer. Those were some great steaks and good conversation with those folks, but no need to mention it here.

On the road again...

I then had the three hour drive to San Antonio and it was a long drive on a full belly and getting dark so I really had to keep myself awake on the drive. It has been quite a while since I have made this drive after dark and there isn’t much out there on I-10 going west from Houston, at least not after dark. There is one thing though that I had been meaning to look into and it happens to be just a couple miles east of the city limits of San Antonio and that is what I am going to tell you about.

I always wonder...

When I come across places and things one thing that I always wonder about is how certain places get their names and just what the story is behind it, there are few rivers and a handful of creeks that cross I-10 on my drive and the one in particular is Woman Hollering Creek.

Maybe this is...

Yes, that is the name, Woman Hollering Creek; I have had several thoughts over the years when I pass over that creek on just how it got its name. Those thought have been things like some woman would get really angry with her husband since he would spend a lot of his time fishing that creek and she would always go there and find him at his favorite fishing hole and start screaming and hollering at him to get his butt home.

Or it might be...

That could be the reason, but it also could be that one day the old guy just had enough of her bitching about his fishing so he decided to something and he ended up drowning her in the creek. She put a good fight and each time she would fight loose and get her head above water she would let out a scream that could be heard for miles.

Surely this is it...

Then I also had a vision of some women who would go down the creek on a hot summer evening to do a little skinny dipping and would leave their clothes on the bank of the creek when they took their dip in the water. Well while they were buck ass naked enjoying the cool water some teenage boys would come along and swipe their clothes, which would sure as hell make the women holler.

I'll be damned...

So on my way for the last thirty miles, all the different scenarios played through my mind and when I sat down on the bed to write the daily dose I just had tell the story of how it actually got its name. Seeing how I don’t actually know the story I went on line to find out, and I’ll be damned that I still can’t tell you the true story of how the creek known as Woman Hollering Creek got its name because there is no accurate history of how it got its name.

Online it's Indians...

There are a couple versions that are quite popular and one of those has to do with a family that was attacked by Indians and the husband was killed during that attack trying to fight off the Indians so the wife took her kids and drowned them in the creek rather then have them be killed or captured by the Indians, she screamed and hollered so loud as she was drowning the kids that it scared the Indians so much that they ran away in fear of her.

She was the only survivor of the attack and ended up walking the banks of the creek screaming and hollering for years each night from the pain and anguish she suffered from what had taken place until she died years later.

And also Mexicans...

There is also a version of a story where a Mexican woman had her kids that ended up drowning somehow in the creek and she also would just holler in despair over the loss of her kids for years at night.

One last version...

One other version I found online was that there was a farm along the creek that the kids from the farm would play and fish the creek and when it was supper time the farm lady would holler for her kids to come home and eat, she could holler so loud that anyone along the creek could hear her.

None can be...

Those are all good stories, but none can be substantiated as actually the real reason so your guess is as good as mine as to how the creek actually got its name. In fact my stories that have gone through my mind sounded pretty good too, at least I thought so.

What do you...

What do you think? If you had to come up with a story for it could you? What would be your story? It just might get you mentioned in the Saturday edition of the Daily Dose if it were a good one.

So that wraps up all the hollering for me, enjoy your day.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Sort:  

Thanks for not telling us all about your day, and jumping straight to the creek story 😁 LOL!
Quite an entertaining read, as usual!

Another case of be side tracked I guess. Glad that you found it entertaining Tiffany.

I am a real follower...and believe me that I do hundreds of Refresh/Reload, just to get it close to a 30min. upVote.. but.
You make yourself sound like a bad salesman... unless ur a pimp... makes no sense to me why you keep wasting gas....makes a crazy guy like me wonder what kind of deals you do...
If you don't explain it,that's fain....ur still a pimp..and I feel sorry for you wife! No wonder she had to join the depressed church housewifes club..
Probably you can actually retire..But, that will be the last thing you work for....who wants to be home,Alone..
Posted using Partiko Android

I know you are a real follower DC , the use of the capital "V" in up vote and it being one word instead of two words is part of the secret code real followers use, damn, that was a secret until now.
Are you still refreshing /reloading or does the "upVote...but." mean you just couldn't pull the trigger on upVoting this Daily Dose?
I am not a bad salesman, neither am I a pimp... but if I were a pimp would that make me sound like I am a better salesman?
I try not to waste gas... In fact, I even did a post over on my Weku blog about wasting gas to save time and how that cost / time relationship works out. I haven't seen you over on WeKu yet, are you there? Here is a referral link in case you want to check out Weku: https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=sultnpapper , the place is a virtual clone of steemit.com , no learning curve what so ever to get started over there. I am posting different stuff over there than what I am posting here in the Daily Dose. Not doing a daily blog over there so it is "Seasoned with Sult N Papper" give it look some time if you get a chance.
I don't believe the wife is in the "depressed church housewifes club", unless she changed groups over there without telling me. She has been a member there her entire life and been volunteering there long before we were married, but I better check and be sure now that you mention it. I pretty sure that depressed group meets on Monday nights and that is also the evening that the girl scout troop she is a leader of meets twice a month so if she is in that group at church she is missing a lot of meetings.

Unfortunately I can't retire, with 4 of the 6 in the family with Ehlers Danlose syndrome the medical bills are just to much. Besides, who would want to be retired just to be home alone? That doesn't sound like any way to enjoy the rest of a person's life. It would probably lead to depression and drinking in excess in my case and I am not a "good" drunk and I know it. So I only drink a beer every blue moon because I like the taste of beer with some pizza.
Thanks for dropping by and throwing a comment on here, I had been beginning to think that you might have muted me on your feed since I hadn't seen any comments lately. Take care and tell Lida I said "hello", I haven't seen anything from her on steemit in months. Last she told me her business was starting to really take off and was just keeping her extremely busy. I have got to run, adios.

I had no balls to check ur reply,and I'm sure you understand why.. I was too embarrassed,couse I know I'm a bitchy drunk too...and sorry about that... I mean no harm, maybe I like you too much,makes me jealous..
Sorry again! Much love and respect!!

Your apology accepted DC and thanks for saying "hello" to Lida for me.
I know you don't mean any harm and it is the whiskey talking. You were the very first person to ever bother to read the Daily Dose and make a comment and so that means a lot to me.
I have a few people on different discord channels ask me why I don't just mute your comments or not respond at the least; but I know deep down you are a good guy and "a bitchy drunk".
I claim here that this is a free speech zone , and I live up to that claim. Free speech is important and will defend anyone's right to say what they want where they want to say it. I may not like what they say but I won't deny anyone the right on this Daily Dose to be heard through their words and you are prime example of that at certain times.
I think you do like me, I know you do, at least in my mind you do. Others may not see it that way, but you and I go back to the very beginning so I know our history and I appreciate it.
Take care.

Hello Mr Sult n’ Papper! It just came to my attention that you had asked about me..thanks for that ..and I am well, but bussiness is as fucked up as it can ever be..more to come in my next post..I hope you are well and creative as always..I haven’t been active since I have been busy living “ the american dream”..well that was a waste of total energy and money!! Any who..thx for the shout out I truly appreciate it and am humbled by it as it triggered a need to get back to the thing that really counts the most ..blogging..a mental release of human experience..beats going to the shrink..(not that I ever tried that waste of money & time) haha..as always, more on my part then yours, Keep in touch, @lidac

Well great to see that DC relayed the message and sorry to hear that things are guzbucked up on the business end of your life. Blogging sure can be therapy and only you can write the prescription.
I look forward to reading your page again, I would go check once a week, and nothing, then once every two weeks and nothing, then it got to once a month and nothing so after four months I finally gave up, now I will have to get back in the routine as well.

Long day with the district manager is a really long day in my opinion. Glad you got through it.

I'm thinking it's probably a bad translation from what ever the tribal language was when it was time to give the creek a white man name for a map.

The Snake river was so named because the translator for Lewis and Clark muffed the sign that signified the name. It should have been 'big river many fish'.

That was probably a lucky break for every school kid to come in Washington, Idaho and Oregon.

She is a good lady and good manager so having her along for the day was good. Not for every day by any means but she covers the entire south eastern US so she only sees me a couple times a year. She was headed to Florida today so she stayed in Houston for a flight out this morning. She said I was crazy for driving over last night after that big meal but I just like waking up in the city I am working that day. That way if something happens on the trip over I had least have several hours to get it resolved without losing any selling time.
Did you google your "I'm thinking" because that was also one I intentionally left out, but since you used the Snake river example I am thinking you didn't Google and it was your thought. The thought was it was a loose translation of a Mexican name since this was a part of Mexico years ago.

I did not Google it, but Spanish may make even more sense than native. I've been around a lot of places with two names (native and white) and they often aren't even close. Little town SE of here that old maps call Gunsight and now is known as Schuschuli. It's on the rez so the native name looks to be the long term winner.

I didn't think you did, that is why I said so. A well traveled and seasoned person like you knows those things from just looking at them and knowing similar situations.

It feels like you didn't tell us anything about your day, lol!

Glad that I was able to do that, I didn't want to bore anyone with the mundane day stuff and just get right to the creek story.

Interesting day, @sultnpapper. It is amazing where our minds wander when we are tired but need to stay awake. All those stories are great and have possibilities of being true. I think all the bases were pretty much covered so no sense in leaving my two cents worth...

Like people say, anything is possible, even an alien space craft have landed and scared some lady half to death and she let out a blood curling scream that could be heard for miles. :)
It was an interesting day and it is true how the mind works when tired.

OK, here's my story as to why it was named Woman Hollering Creek. I'm guessing it's a very ordinary creek, and that at some point in the past, a sheriff or some official wanted to popularise the area, so they decided to give it a memorable name. Maybe they even spread some "legends" about it.
I'm guessing that won't win any prizes!
I also love places with mysterious names. There's a beautiful lochan - ie, a small loch high up in the hills, which is quite a trek to get to. It's called Lochan nan Eireannaich, which means "The lochan of the Irishmen". Some sources say that a group of Irishmen were drowned there, and others say it was a priest who fell to his death from the cliffs above, about 700 years ago.

That is a respectable story you came up with, government officials are always trying to bring attention to something whether it needs it or not.
I can't say one way or another as far as winning, that choice won't be made until I get to the Saturday edition writing of the Daily Dose. But you are surely a consideration at this point.

howdy there sir sultnpapper! wow you had quite the day on Tuesday! Great fun hearing about the different versions of that creek story, I wonder which one if any of them are true?
I take it your company's business is doing well?

Seems no one knows which is true so it can be which ever you like, no one could prove you wrong. The company is doing okay, but you never know how fast things can turn.

sir sultnpapper! yes sir things can sure change fast but how long has your company been doing well and are they expanding?

22 years and yes we are growing but slow growth and well calculated.

sir sultnpapper! well sir that is very good to hear. It's one of the few things in Texas that has slow growth! lol. Or at least it seems that way with so many cities exploding in popuation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78