Oct 22 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

WoW, hard to believe this is Steemit Ramble post #40. The other day I passed 60 on reputation and I’m well pass 1000 on my posts. Progress, ever onward, step by step, progress.

It’s a cool, sunny fall day out there today. I was out briefly this morning but intend to remain in reading, voting and writing today. There is a chat starting in about 35 minutes on the Steemit Talk server on Discord.

I’m in the Steem Speak voice chat on Discord regularly. It’s neat getting to meet people and put voices to the names. The Steem Pub moved from Rocket Chat to Discord last night. Another server called Steem Venue has also opened. Not sure what that is about but hey stop in and find out.

The Steem Trail project is running on a server there as well. If you want to help curate a trail stop in to the Steemit Trail channel and let us know what you want to do. Lots of Trails still need help.

If you don’t have discord installed, clicking the link will take you to the website to register. You can use it in the web browser, a desktop app or mobile app.

Onward to today’s rambling

Progress is not possible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything

@quinneaker talks about change and the need for learning to handle change in our lives. Change is difficult. It doesn’t matter if the change is a process from what we are familiar with to something that is a different way to get the same or similar outcome. Or if it is personal change.

If we’re trying to get others to change, it usually is better to lead the change through example than to drive the change through telling others what they need to do. We can never learn too much about change.

20. Sun Tzu and The Art of Winning - Business Bits - 30 Days Challenge

@dragosroua writes #20 of his 30 day business challenge. He’s also one of the moderators for the Business Steem Trail. Today he looks at the relationship between Sun Tzu’s “Art of War” and business practices. A good read and lots to learn.

She got hundreds of thousands of dollars to invest with - but she will not go through Bitcoin to get into SteemPower - What to do?

@fyrstikken posts a suggestion that new people need to be able to buy STEEM directly without going through Bitcoin. For someone coming in from the non-crypto world Steemit can be intimidating.

For me, I was geek enough that I went exploring and gradually figured out more or less what I needed to do. A lot of people wont, yet could be strong contributors or investors.

This topic has been discussed a few times in SteemSpeak.

BROTH -- Why The Heck Is Everyone Drinking Bone Broth...

@macksby writes some great fiction but in this post, he is anything but fictitious. I was raised in a home where in the winter time there was almost always a pot of soup on the stove and it was usually started with beef bones. I tend to be the same, the cold weather comes around and the crockpot comes out for me to make soup, stews or chilis.

They are healthy and economical. Even on a tight budget you can make soups that are very healthy and nutritious.

The Great Exodus (Fireside Chat with @kevinwong)

@kevinwong has created a post to get us thinking about a possible future where the earth and its control is changing rapidly and people will need to make hard choices. Have a read and add your thoughts.

Sharing Our Articles On Mainstream Media And A “Best Of Steemit” Facebook Group Is The Key To Organic Growth

Sharing posts of off Steemit is a great way to draw attention to the site. Do you think that other sites, like Facebook or Youtube, became popular because of people looking them up and joining? People kept coming across references to the sites and became curious. There are currently Facebook groups where people share Steemit links. I know I often share posts to my personal Page.

5 Things Holding You Back in Life and How To Get Free

@sauravrungta writes about five areas where we hold ourselves back and ideas on how to set ourselves free. Most people hit at least one of these areas regularly, even the most successful among us will hit walls that hold us back. I think one fo the worst ones for me is the tendency to want to find the ‘right time’ to do something instead of just jumping in.

Wrap-up on Day 40

It has been an interesting day around Steemit today. I found a variety of posts, listened in on conversations about the cryptocurrency market, Steemit, the future of Steemit and what’s going on around the site.

For those who pay attention, Steemit is a community in every sense. Explore, you’ll be surprised what you find.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

This post has also been linked to from Reddit.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks for the compliment and the mention!
Its great to be recognized and included. This is a valuable post. I started following you after reading one of these a while back.
Worth a read again!
Thanks for sharing!

Congrats on the Big 40... It is a great service and sacrifice of time you provide for the community.., and it is much appreciated!!!
Thanks so much for the nomination, BTW -- you are very kind :))

thank you @macksby, you're very kind. I was surprised you hadn't been nominated :)

Thanks for the mention and congrats for these series. Especially in the beginning of a new community, continuous content in the form of series or challenges is very helpful for increasing engagement. Also thanks for the tip about FB groups, I'm digging through them right now...

thank you @dragosroua, I just took another look and found some more that i hadn't noticed before.. always growing :)

A suggestion though. While I feel its a quality article and your consistent with it so thats also good. I would work with a different title. I think you need a title thats more catchy and also one that demands more credibility. The title makes it seem trivial and thus not necessary to read.
Though I find the article to be a worthwhile read.

I like the Steemit Ramble part .. titles are often a weak point for me. I'm open to suggestions how to punch it up.

Well theres nothing wrong with it. Its always BEST to do what you feel good about!
I am simply saying that by calling it a ramble it sounds a bit casual. But some people like casual and just like to see someones rambles.

I get you ... and yes it is meant to be sort of casual like sitting in a room and sharing some tips to good posts.

Great!
Then its exactly a perfect title!
Wish you the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47