Curation Corner # 12 -- Recap of Our Time With @LLFarms

in #curation6 years ago

We had a great Curation Corner show with guest @LLFarms. Learned a lot from her wealth of knowledge and activities on the platform. Was great getting to know her.

Well worth having a listen.

Here is the recording:

Sort:  

Wow, I just finished hearing this super cool conversation. I must say that I'm flattered, as I never imagined I would be reaching so many people, let alone that I'd get such great comments regarding what I do. It's a big surprise, for real - come ooooooon, I'm not crazy, just a tiny little bit pretty much completely.

Well, as for the conversation I took some notes during the 1 hour, so I could add my own thoughts.

The first one is regarding to Bandwidth (RC) problems back in the days. I also faced problems in Dec/Jan, just like @LLFarms. It was tough trying to interact through comments and having to wait for Bandwidth to recover - it did require patience. Fortunatelly, the problem solved itself as soon as I was able to start powering up the cents earned.

Now, with Steemit Inc not delegating anymore for new accounts, I believe that it'll be even more difficult for new members to interact, at least until they have some SP invested. This situation reinforces the big importance the communities have on the platform, we need to find this new users and try as much as possible to direct them to their niche communities where they'll be supported or even receive a small delegation so they can perform and interact - Here's where Discord plays an important role. Once that new user achieves his/her own little SP the delegation can be brought back and now the new user will have the means to continue, not only with power to interact, but also with a great roll of friends behind him.

This leads to the second point @llfarms touched there, maybe new users will have to chose what to do when it comes to wasting resources. So, again, I agree and reinforce that its our duty to guide this new user into learning that this is not Facebook, that editing a post over and over again will consume RC, that following all the cool trails in the beginning is not a great idea, that saying 'good post' may not be the best way to engage.

The third anotation I did is when she says 10-15 cents was awesome and that we need to have low expectations. I have the same feeling here. I avoid at all costs promote Steem to outsiders as "look how you can make money by posting", when in fact it's not like that. Yes, it takes time, effort, patience, persistence. The right approach to promote should be "did you know that you could grow on this new platform if you are good enough?" - it lowers the expectation and reinforces that quality is needed to grow.

The last point is the delegations that @ned could do to curation projects, haha, it would be awesome indeed, however, after the dlive fiasco I doubt he will. But we can hope, right?

Sorry for the long comment, and I glad I found this. I just need to discover how I can be more participative. There's a lot going on over here, on the Travellers community with @travelfeed and @cyclefeed.

I'm giving my sweat, so possibly we'll meet on SF2018, wooooooho.

Being one of those new people, I can honestly say I have a huge appreciation for groups like Welcome Wagon and Helpies. They have members who are all about helping the little creator out there. Our blogs can definitely prove the point that the new accounts, even though they may have amazing content and enhance the platform, need help from others to be heard. If they figure out that commenting is what gets them out there, they have to deal with the fact they they cannot comment like they need to do. It is frustrating and will cause them to ask it it is worth it.

Thanks again for caring about the little guys.
Ren

You are right @xcountrytravelers, I like to say that comenting is 60% of the job, 40% is content. The main reason why I care so much for new comers, is because I've been there too, I know the struggle it is not being able to comment or post. However, until a few days, we didn't have the RC problems again, like it was with Bandwidth back in December/January.

The first problem the curation projects were addressing was the highlighting problem; new users were not having the chance to be seen on the tag system, we worked on that with our own tag - no pumped posts with bots there to cover them, garanteed that a curator will manually read the post (it may not grant the curation, but we do read them all)

Now the problem is another, they are getting some extra highlight, but they can't really interact on the chain, so we need formulate together a way to fix - back to the drawing board. Reinforcing here the importance the communities have, even more than being a curation project, a lot is changing on TravelFeed to bring the new users even more close to us.

I think the "...I've been there too, I know the struggle..." is the key. If we remember where we have been and try to employ empathy, it will help us all be motivated to find the answer. I am unsure exactly what to do to help sort out the situation, but I do know I can do a small part. Scott and I have been trying to figure out how we can help get those new introduction posts out there. We can resteem and create a post each week about these introductions and see if we can get the wonderful people who follow us to take a moment and see who new is out there. I think that is a huge step. How often will people go look at what others are encouraging? Think about the posts that talk about other people's post. I know I am more encouraged to go see them and read.

It is a new system and we have to figure out how to keep making our SteemIt World amazing for everyone who wants to be part of the community.
Ren

That's the key point there Ren, empathy! I have to be honest that I don't look up to the introductions, not because I don't want, but mainly because of time.

If curations projects such as TravelFeed or even CycleFeed could partner with people who actively search for new members, that would be ideal. That way these new users can find their niche and learn the ways to get there.

EXACTLY! There are so many new introductions that I am a bit overwhelmed. I went through about 30 this morning to find the two I really felt needed to be encouraged and introduced. What I am looking for are those who have been here a couple of days and they just don't have many votes, much payback, or comments. I don't want them to feel the way I did. So I go through and look at the post then the numbers. I do not care if the post is AMAZING, just something that is true to their heart and trying to be honest. It's hard.

This project has already caused me to feel more for the curators that are doing this on a huge scale. I am getting empathy EVERYWHERE! Sure hate when it gets on my favorite t-shirt.
Ren

A convergence of people I love

Hello @LLFarms! Thanks so much for enabling @shadowspub to have another fantastic show.

Actually yes, Scott and I have been on Helpies for a while, but we were trying to figure the whole SteemIt world out. We have finally figured a few things out and are understanding the combined steemit and discord world.

I so love how you stepped out to do what you could to help others. Thanks so much for the inspiration.
Ren

Hi @shadowspub!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.957 which ranks you at #303 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09