Manual Voting and Bots v’s Steemvoter – Blockchain Business Intelligence

in #curation6 years ago

Steemvoter has been down for upgrades. It’s not down that long but yesterday I did notice a drop in the number of votes that I receive on my posts.

  

3 posts since Steemvoter went down and I had 152 votes and the 3 posts before received 208 votes.  That’s a 27% decrease in votes.

So I connected to Steemsql held and managed by @arcange  to see if this drop in the % of votes is consistent across steemit.  I looked at the votes table and collected the data for the 7th, 8th and 9th Jan.

 

Steemvoter was active on the 7th and some of the 8th but was not active yesterday the 9th Jan.

The number of votes on the 7th was 738,860 which is 17% higher than the votes on the 9th.

The number of votes on the 9th was 630,886.  The votes on the 8th were 778,753 which is 23% higher than the 9th.

This is only a small sample of data and it will be interesting to look at this over the week and see if the % remain the same or will the people of Steemit begin to do more manual voting?

However from this sample it can be assumed that between 17% and 23% of votes are made by Steemvoter. It also looks like a larger portion of the votes I receive come from Steemvoter at about 27%.

The remaining votes are a mixture of both manual votes and bots.  I’d love to see all the bots go off line for a day just so I can grab some data.  It would provide very interesting insights.

So how much are your votes down with Steemvoter being down?  Do you use Steemvoter?  Are you voting manually now?

I don’t use Steemvoter so this hasn’t created a problem for me and I am delighted to get a snapshot of the dataset as I don’t see this happening that often.

I am part of a Blockchain Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BlockchainBI. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit or Blockchain data, please do contact me or any of the#BlockchainBI team and we will do our best to help you...

You can find #BlockchainBI on discord https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j


Sort:  

Hi Paula, I no longer use steemvoter. I use another service that offers the same function - steemauto.com.

Although I don't see it happening too often, it was good instinct to take a snapshot when it happened.

I use @steemdunk for my autovoting and I love it. It is very simple to set up and easy to make changes later. I also get a nice upvote from the bot itself on occasion.

This is the site to set it up:
https://steemdunk.xyz/

My post about how I use it from a while ago.
https://steemit.com/curation/@fitinfun/minnow-tip-steemdunk-post-upvoting-save-time-increase-rewards

I am not on the other program, but I definitely lost loyal voters today.

would you believe I have never heard of it. thanks for the share

I'll give this a look too. Thank you.

I have been using steemvoter since last summer. It is an invaluable tool, especially when you run a community. There just isn't enough time to read and upvote 50+ posts a day. My own numbers as well as @SteemitBC have taken a hit, but this is a good thing in my eyes.

Relying on one single point of failure is part of what decentralization tries remedy. Having SV go down has made me realize I need a back up or a new service all together. @stellabelle linked a service on GitHub in the past, but I wasn't able to get it running. Now may be the time to revisit it and get it started.

yes when you are a running a community it is a totally different kettle of fish. I fully get that

Interesting for sure. I also think it would be interesting to have that "one day". I don't think we will see it though.

I believe that the entire reward pool is distributed either way regardless of the number of votes. We used to say... If there were 1 post and 1 voter the entire reward pool would be distributed between those two accounts.

I am no longer sure if this is entirely true.

I always enjoy the data!

I am not sure that is true either about the distribution. Lol but you are right about not seeing that 'one day' of no bots

I think you might have made a typo: corrected....

I’d love to see all the bots go off line. for a day just so I can grab some data. It would provide very interesting insights.

very controversial the issue of automatic votes, I use them and I have not had good results, maybe I'm using the wrong bot.

Since I joined steemit, I always use manually vote

Manual votes because I'm afraid of the machines taking over the world (of Steemit).

Nice capture of this data!

I've switched to manual fairly recently and the only issue with it is that I miss out on the curation on posts I like that were uploaded while I sleep.

Yes I do use steemvoter and just paid for the premium too!

Now, with the help of GINAbot, i'm 100% manual compared to something like 60/40 before.

There are just so many people I want to support for various reasons, and so i like to mix strategy.

Cheers!

Just registered for it too. :)

GINAbot that is.

She is very useful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04