INDIAN ETHNIC WEAR

in #culture6 years ago

Hello, Steemers For the last couple of days, I’ve been wondering what I could share with you all. I’ve been attending several weddings (still on vacation you see), and I realized that I can tell you people about Indian ethic wear, especially sarees.

Indian weddings are so colourful. Every direction you turn, your eyes catches some mesmerizing work of art. Sarees are art and only master artists can come up with such work.  Saree is a drape which ranges from 4.5 meters to 8 meters in length and two to four feet in breadth. This is worn with a fitted upper garment (crop top) called blouse. It can be draped in various styles which is usually associated with the culture of the place from where these women hail.

Generally, married women or ladies who are above the age of 20 wear sarees. Sarees are associated with elegance and grace. They are accessorized with dangling earrings or large studs and also with neckpieces like chokers or long chains. Women also adorn their hair with flowers to complete the look.

So yeah, this is some information about sarees. If you people are interested in wearing these and are unable to pay a visit to India, then you can buy them on Amazon or other shopping sites. There are several tutorial videos on YouTube where you can learn how to drape them. 

Do share pictures if you ever decide to wear a saree. I'd love to see them. If you have any questions, all you need to do is type them in the comment box and I'll be happy to answer.

Thank you. See you people around.  

Sort:  

I am from Australia. I love Indian silk Sarees. So much so that I had one made into a wedding gown. I will dig out some photos from last century.

Woah! That makes me so happy. Its really nice to know that there are people out there who appreciate Indian culture. I feel so proud.
Yes, yes. Do post those pictures. I would love to see them and maybe even read a post or two about them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86