You Think Crypto Is Cool, Wait Unti We Get Biometrics With It

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

This is the future I picture. You have a phone that has access to your wallet. Not your main wallet, you funds are safe elsewhere but a few thousand dollars worth. It is your spending account from day to day. When you want to make a purchase you press the watch and put your fingerprint on it to verify. Or maybe you say buy and the watch verifies your voice and sends the payment. We are talking about secure, hands-free, quick payments. And this would be accepted everywhere.

Want to go a step further? Maybe all you need is your fingerprint or an eye scan and your money is sent. No watch. But this is kind of creepy as you would be on a cloud system with you info on it. So lets stick with the watch or maybe your phone. Biometrics is the use of your fingerprint or other personal identifier to unlock something. It exists today on phones and is only going to get better.

But where it can really shine is cryptocurrency. Why? Because who wants to remember those crazy passwords. Biometrics lets us take our wallets out and use them on the fly. It would make the world not only a lot more efficient but plain cool. Who doesn't want to scan their finger when they buy coffee. I think it is the future of digital payments and it is a future I am looking forward to.

What would you prefer? Eye scan, fingerprint or voice scan?
abstract-19175_1280.jpg

Sort:  

I'm skeptical of cloud-based biometrics. Every time we have a blizzard or a big thunderstorm you couldn't buy anything. I think an implantable chip might make the most sense.

True, would you get a chip? I would be nervous about it.

Once there was enough variety of chips that there was a selection, I think I'd be able to find one that had the features I was looking for. Or maybe more than one with varying security levels.

I've had to carry emergency medical information around with me in the past, and chips just always looked like such a better idea for that than the options I had like wallet cards and bracelets.

nice informations @whatageek
thank you for sharing
resteemid

I think that the survey of the eye is the best and safely much larger than fingerprint finger or clear sound we are always need portfolio safe and so we can bid farewell to our money, I like the way safety using a survey of the eye، good luck my dear friend @whatageek 👍👍😀
All the best for you 👍😀

hey @whatageek i posted my entry in marvel contest but you didn't saw that, you said we have time and can post for a week but i haven't received your attention yet, hope you will give it a look, I'm gonna post my second entry in an hour, keep it up 😊

Hey the contest runs all week for a winner but I give less and less upvotes and comments as the week progresses. I check it in the morning and like to spread the votes out. Will keep an eye open for yours.

@whatageek, that is the future, efficient and super fast.

Fingerprint - yea
Voice scan - yea

Eye Scan - nay, Minority Report (the movie) still gives me the creeps man.

finger for me... that sounds dirty :p.

😂😂😂

The future indeed..
Fingerprint would be the best solution for it.
I don't like eye scan either

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

If I am to speak from the option I think I would have picked the eye scanner.

Reasons

  • Want happens if I catch a cold and I sole depend on voice recognition as a means of verification. (it may not be able to recognize my croaked voice.
  • what if I doze of and someone else raise my thumbs to pass the verification process.
    (I no you are thinking what kind of a deep sleep is that. Lol, it happens)

Final thought

If you ask me to give my candid view on this verification ish, I will say, I don't like any of this methods.

If there is a slight technological glitch a fortune may be lost within seconds

The Chinese government is already using bio-metrics to catch offenses as minor as jay-walking.
This is not a future I want to inhabit.
I don't want to scan my finger when buying coffee!
Corporate monoliths have enough of our information and trade it wantonly. Call me old fashioned, but I am perfectly happy remembering my pass codes!

You see time will come when parts of your body becomes the password and there won’t be any password to remember, just joking

You saw the right picture my friend , believe me. Daily technology advances and this you pictured is already happening. A government I think the Chinese has inculcated giving a form of crypto currency { I think ethereum} to refugees instead of food and those coins could be used to purchase things in stores in the refugees camp. And it is biometric authorization, refugees buy pay by scanning their eyes, fingers etc. by doing that, the crimes of stealing food from the camp by Who God knows has been by cut. You have a great insight my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87