Go safe (buy Bitcoin) or go risky (buy altcoins)?

One of the constant questions I ask myself when investing in the crypto market is whether I should go safe or go risky? If you have watched the charts for the last months, you will quickly see that Bitcoin can be considered a very safe investment, at least compared to altcoins!

If you look at the Dollar value of Bitcoin, it now has a 1/3 value of its ATH price. That is a big decrease, but compared to the other cryptocurrencies out there, it is very small. Bitcoin has also been very steady around 6000-6800 USD for the last months (except for the big drop a few days again), and many people joke and call it the new stable coin on the market. But, whenever I decide to invest in cryptocurrencies, I always feel the temptation to buy altcoins instead. Why?

piggy-bank-2889046_1280.jpg
Pixabay

The big adrenaline kick


In my mind, I have made up a picture of Bitcoin as a quite boring coin. I want to live riskily and I want to experience the adrenaline of the event when one of my cryptocurrencies increases in value with 100%, 200%, or with even higher numbers. It is the dream of a giant increase that leads me to invest in the other cryptocurrencies. But, not only!

There are lots of cryptocurrencies that I really believe has a fantastic product. Some of these have gone through a giant decline in the last 11 months, even though they might have fantastic products. For example, Vechain has more partnerships than any other cryptocurrency on the market, but still, it has been one of the biggest losers in value over the last few months in the list of the top cryptocurrencies. There doesn't seem to be any logic in it, because no matter how fantastic partnerships they make, they just keep moving downwards in value.

But, then you have the thing - one day this has got to stop, and the giants will stand up! It might not be today, it might not be tomorrow, but one day, and I do not want to miss out on that moment!

What is your strategy?


In other words, I am not a big hodler of Bitcoin, but instead, I enjoy buying and investing in altcoins. My portfolio suffers from this fact, as the value would have been much higher if I had just kept Bitcoin throughout the entire bear market, but instead, I buy more and more altcoins, hoping that the market will turn around and they will moon like crazy. Some of these currencies have fantastic products, meaning I actually believe they deserve a value much higher than today's.

What about you? Do you have a strategy for your investments? Are you a Bitcoin-er, or are you more of an altcoin holder, like me?

Find more cryptocurrency related articles here on Steemit written by @unbiasedwriter, or visit the IP Address Guide at http://www.ipaddressguide.org/.

Sort:  

We see soon what next ... one month more and we have year what ends ... so year end says where we move .


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88