You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Step By Step: Getting Your Bitcoin Cash out of a Bitcoin Paper Wallet

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Thanks for the information @lukestokes :)

I've managed to import my old private keys into Electron Cash, but can’t send it to another wallet. I had BTC in a Multibit wallet before the BCH split. After the split I first send my BTC to a new wallet (Electrum) so they are safe. Then I took the following steps:

  1. exported the private keys from the old Multibit wallet (without password protection)
  2. installed Electron Cash on another system and created a new wallet (with a new password)
  3. imported the old private keys in the new wallet

So far so good, BCH is visible in Electron Cash.

But now I want to send BCH to Binance. And when I try to send, I’m asked a password. I tried the password of the old wallet and the password of the new wallet, but both are incorrect it says. What password is Electron Cash asking for?

Hope someone can help me out here :)

Sort:  

That Shiism be your electron wallet password. It’s been a while, but I think When Electron installs, it uses the config from any existing Electrum install. Either way, when you set up a wallet, the first thing you want to do is encrypt it and secure the password via a password manager you trust or some other fully offline, trustworthy method.

Thanks @lukestokes. Yes I encrypted the new Electron Cash wallet with a password. I use that password to acces the wallet, so I know it's correct. But somehow when I try sending BCH to Binance it says ‘incorrect password’.

Perhaps I should try it again, is that possible? To create a second wallet in Electron Cash and import the old private key again?

Yep, you can try it again, but if that password works, you should be good to go. Very odd.

It worked. Created a second wallet, this time without password protection. Could send the BCH to exchange adress straight away. Thanks again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88