The world is changing, todays earnings will be worth more tomorrow

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago I got the opportunity to get a new job. I was excited but I did have some hesitation growing inside of me. Is it really worth it?? How much will I make for the time I spend?  If you would have asked me a few years back or even 6 months ago I would taken it but today I am not so sure. Why? Because the world is changing in a lot of different ways.


I sat down to just calculate how much I would earn and how much time I spend for my earnings. The first thing I thought about was my precious time. After 2 years without a job I have realized that time isn’t money, time is freedom. Yes, I don’t have a lot of money but I have huge amount of time. And today my time is important to me.

So how much time would I spend every day to work with something I don’t even like? First we have to add the time to get to work and back home again. That is about 3,5 hours every day. Then we have the time of actual work which is 8 hours per day. Then I have 1 hour lunch every day without salary but I still havet o be at work or around it so I will count that as worktime. Then usually I am about 15 minutes early at work and often I would stay about 15 minutes after work has ended to finish up everything. Total time in one day adds up to 13 hours!

And how much would I make? I would have a salary of 1700€ per month before taxes. That would give me 1156€ per month in actual money I can spend after the 32% tax cut. But I have to pay for the buss which would be 150€ every month. Only 1106€ left now!

I would work about 22 days every month, 22 days times 13 hours a day is 286 hours per month. 286 hours in exchange for 1106€!!!! No way I am doing that for something I know that I will hate after just a few weeks, or maby even after a couple of days. That would be 3,86€ per hour! It would be pure slavery. I would rather have 13 hours extra every day and spend it on things i love doing even if it means that I would have less money.

The thing I have learned during my 2 years of poorness is that money is nothing without time. I have managed to get food, water and a place I can call home, that is the only things I really need. Everything else is just things I want and that is my ego talking.

Another conclusion I made was that the world is changing big time and all the fiatcurrencies is devaluing rapidly. Why would I collect something that is worth less for every day that passes when I can collect something that is worth more and more every day, like cryptocurrency?

"My earnings today will be worth more tomorrow"

I didn’t take the job like you probobly know by now. Instead I am focusing on the things I love doing. Spending my precious time on things that makes me happy like steemit. Even if it means hard work and some time with even less money. Because I know I will always manage to get food, water and a place I can call home. Plus I have a feeling that Steemit is just going to grow and cryptocurrencies is just in its baby phase. My earnings today will be worth more tomorrow.

I am not thinking in Dollar or Euro or any other fiatcurrency anymore, I am thinking in Cryptocurrency and so should you!  

Sort:  

Good post bro. Steemit is great because you will be rewarded according to your effors and the freedom is wow..If you need the money, then use the job to raise cash and enter full time in crpyto especially steemit. However, cryptos are volatile..see my latest post on the issue. Good luck

Thank you brother :) I don't need a job but I would maby want a job. But it has to be a job that I like, otherwise I can pass. I have stopped worrying, I mean I'm still alive after 2 years without a job :)

I agree on some and strongly agree on most of the points you brought out.
We can have a lot or less of money and still get the same amount of time, and when time is gone it's gone and no amount of money can bring it back.

Your point resonates in me more because I've been working for the majority of my after college life and have been out of job for a few months and without that happening I'm afraid I wouldnt have been introduced to Steem and Bitcoin and the revolution that is now happening. I'll get back to working soon but I now have a different mindset on how time and money is valued.

It was the same for me. I lost my job and everything I owned. Some time later I started to learn about all this and how everything we know today is going to fall apart. I hope you will invest in crypto and precious metals because you're going to need it ;)

right on! I feel the same and hold most of my investments in cryptos. Ya, my RL friends think I'm crazy but we will see who's crazy in few years. Maybe crazy is actually genius

They don't have a clue of what is going to happen. When the banks fail they will loose everything and come to you for some help. You are ahead of the curve and they are going to chase it. BTW keep your cryptos that you want to save offline on a paper wallet (look it up on YT) just to be safe ;)

Insightful and rich. Thanks for this! <3

I'm with you on this one! I have more time than money.. and the world is spinning just fine! Goodluck buddy, I'll be following and Keep on Steemin On!!

Exactly, everything is going to be alright. Just don't worry and be happy ;) Thank you :)

Never before has the world seen such opportunities for people to pave their own path. No longer will people need to seek jobs, they'll create their own.

The time we have ahead of us is filled with opportunity. We just need to open our minds :)

You are doing exactly what I hope the rest of the world is able to do through the adoption of cryptocurrency, and especially platforms like Steemit. Having the chance to provide for yourself by doing what you love to do. What a great thing!

Precisely. Everyone should do what they love and stop working at a job they hate. I would say that over 90% of working people is only working for the money and I believe that is wrong thinking. Follow your passion and you can accomplish anything :)

I see you are from sweeden, i guess 1700 euro is not much in sweden. Your salary depens on your skills so what job was it?

I don't agree. My salary depends on what jobs that are avalable. I've had about twice the salary before but world economics is going under so there are no jobs avalable except shitty jobs. This one was customer service for a tech company. BTW it was 1106€ after taxes and normal rent is about 6-700€ per month in Sweden. Normal food spending in Sweden is about 5-600€. Now I am a bit lucky and don't spend near as much as that. But you have to keep in mind that I would dedicate all my awaken time just to work for some food. Would I be happy? NO I would hate it and that wouldn't be good for my health.

Good point, I agree. Lets stay in touch

I saw you are from Germany :) always fun to meet new people and Germany is just a boat trip away. following you

What is avarage sallary in Sweden? I have been there few times(last time 7 years ago, loved it) and one i can say for sure living there is expensive

1700€ is about avarage salary

So now, when you dont have regular job. Invest your time to earn on your hobby, i see some really nice sketches on your desk. Good luck.

That is exactly my plan :) Thank you.

Depends on the job really...sometimes you cant even get a job with your skills

Great post and absolutely true: time is much more worth than money. In a former life I had a job like you described, doing it 21 years and hated it every day. It was in an insurance company. Can you imagine something more boring and hatred?

No I actually can't, haha. I hate insurance companies, they seem to have their own rules and laws just like banks. My father used to say the most evil companies is banks and insurance companies.

Your dad spoke totally true, boy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14