Diary of a Crypto Time Traveler #5 / The BLOODBATH - 16th January 2018

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Jan 16th 2018 - The Bloodbath.

Flip over to the first entry to get a complete understanding of my situation. Links to others provided at the bottom.

diary.png

Hello diary,

Remember how I said the wall street boost might result in a sharp rise in cryptocurrency value? Well, it didn't. Instead, the complete opposite happened today --a total crash of the entire cryptocurrency market! It was a complete bloodbath! 98% of all currencies were in the red, and even those that remained green some decline in their value.

When I surfed unto coinmarketcap.com and I saw that bitcoin's value had gone from hovering around $14000 to just above $11,000 in just a few hours, my heart skipped a beat! I began to question the little memories I had from the year 2089. Was I wrong? Was everything I thought about my life a lie? Weren't cryptocurrencies as prominent and useful in the future as I had thought? Had I risked everything and come back to the past for nothing? If I couldn't get back, what would happen to my kids? Did I even really have kids, or were Emmet and Ursula a false memory too?

It was this last thought that pulled me back together. No way I could have imagined up my family, the very reason I was doing all of this. Which means that the currency market will bounce back up again, perhaps even faster than anyone could have predicted. In fact, as I'm writing this, it's already going back up! Bitcoin had hit a bottom of about $10,300, but the last I checked it was back up to $11,400. That's great!

Now, thinking about it critically, I figure this is all part of the Market correction going on. The question now is, what currencies will enjoy a full recovery from this, and which won't at all? By tomorrow we should be getting some answers. It's definitely NOT a time to be selling your coins! It is almost 100% given that the market will bounce back.

Not that that affects me. I don't have any coins to sell! And I don't have any money to buy some... today would have been the most perfect time ever!

Anyway, I'm incredibly tired and need to go to bed. I did do my research on wallets, and I had a real, full talk with Lindsey today, but I'll give that story when I wake up tomorrow. Hmm... that means I'll have two diary entries for the 16th. But it'll be worth it... There's a lot to tell.

crypto-crash.jpg


Diary of a Crypto Time Traveler is a fictional story used to share real knowledge on cryptocurrencies, blockchains and predictions, and my own recent findings.

Read previous entries below:
#1 Jan 12th 2018 - Arrival
#2 Jan 13th 2018 - Forks
#3 Jan 14th 2018 - Market Correction and an Expected Wall Street Boost
#4 Jan 15th 2018 - Steemit for Newbies


Upvote, Follow, Resteem

Follow me @peterogwara

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81