We shouldn't be discouraging people to power down. Being able to earn crypto (=Bitcoin) on Steemit is one of it's best features that could draw in millions of users

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I've seen a popular trend for a while now, which is people calling for a stop to Powering Down because that would be better for STEEM. I am wondering if this is really the best approach for Steemit to grow, and would like to make a case for the opposite.

Of course everybody has their own reasons for Powering Up or Powering Down, and for some people Powering Down is frowned upon because they see it as 'selling out' to another cryptocurrency (or worse: FIAT). I think that's totally the wrong approach though, because if we do that we as a community limit ourselves only to people who only love STEEM. But what if you don't care (yet) about STEEM? What if you just want Bitcoin because that's what you heard of in the media?

The main draw for me to initially come to Steemit, was because STEEM was worth Bitcoin (!). I wanted more Bitcoin, but didn't have any more FIAT or didn't want to invest more of it, so I looked for alternatives. That's what initially drew me here: It's a place where I can blog to earn more Bitcoin. Sure, it needs converting through an exchange, but crypto is crypto!

Later on, my attitude started to change. I realized that cashing out is a short term solution, and doesn't really work on Steemit. The more Steem Power you have, the better you'll be able to benefit off of this platform. I adjusted my plans and decided that if I wanted to make some Bitcoin, I was first going to have to make some STEEM. And there and then I was converted into a real Steemian.

Nowadays, I go about it 50/50. I stock up more, but I also spend a few dollars each week to buy some random altcoin that caught my eye. I will probably keep it in such a way that my SP keeps growing and doesn't shrink.

The fact you can sell STEEM for something else is the single best feature of Steemit!

We should advertise broadly that if people want to earn Bitcoin, they can do so on Steemit through STEEM! They'll end up stocking up on SP anyway if they want to be succesful. It's a win-win.

We shouldn't be discouraging people from powering down, when this is in fact what could draw millions and millions of wannabe-investors to Steemit. People who come in for the Bitcoin/crypto they can earn, but end up keeping most of it in Steem Power because that's the only way to make Steemit work!

In my opinion, we shouldn't be STEEM maximalists, but rather see and advertise STEEM as the way to earn any crypto, because STEEM can be converted to any crypto!

Millions upon millions of people who want to buy Bitcoin because of the current hype, but don't because the hurdle is too big, could be drawn to Steemit because Steemit allows them an easy way to get into crypto. They come for the Bitcoin, but stay for the STEEM, is my thinking! It has always surprised me that on other platforms like Reddit, nobody is talking much about Steemit as a way to earn cryptocurrency. I think we should start talking about it and suggesting it there. Mike Novogratz is saying the herd is coming... well, let's direct them this way, shall we?

Please consider Upvoting, Resteeming or Following if you liked this content! I write frequently about crypto-related things, so consider following me if you are interested in that sort of thing! Thank you!

Sort:  

After the first split of Bitcoin, we saw many people get the new coin BCC and it still has value this created a situation. This time everyone planned to get out of steem for the next free coin but what happened, they all got BTG which is worth about a hundred bucks. All this leaves Steem devalued but those Investors who left now do not have any future after all the hype dies down, the only safe place where they can create a reliable return is here and they know it. Only time will tell what the future holds for us.

"...come for the Bitcoin, but stay for the STEEM"

It's a different way of looking at it, but I like it. STEEM has many different appeals to different people and we should explore every one of them.

Indeed.
I personally think as STEEM we should seek to be part of the wider crypto community, not just focused on STEEM. People who love ETH, could end up on Steemit blogging for STEEM which they sell (in part) for ETH. Everybody wins

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 89.0% @investegg upgoat, thanks to @pandorasbox
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pandorasbox to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I don't see what the big deal is. People are rewarded to post great content. We need them. What they want to do with their Steem is their business. drops mic

Yep, I fully agree. But even more, I think we should advertise the possibility more, rather than shun it!

I have only been on the platform for about a month and a half. From the beginning, I have left my post settings to 50/50, and my strategy is to cash out any SBD (because poverty, I need the income), but keep the SP as power, which selfishly speaking helps me earn curation rewards too. I don't have much yet, but it IS accumulating, and if ever there's an emergency and I need rent money I could power down, so it's also like a savings account of sorts. But I also want to be able to help other Steemians earn and so even for not selfish reasons, I want to be able to upvote and have that contribute. It's a true community thing, we help each other here, and I love it.

Exactly! I am at 50/50 post settings too. I pay some upvote bots to promote my posts with SBD, so that goes right back into the system and comes back as SP.
And yes, having SP and being able to upvote other people is a great way of bonding with followers! I just wish I had that voting slider, so I wouldn't be drained so quickly!

I am always checking my vote % and going ...damn. LOL I am with you on the drained thing. I just saw your minnowbooster upgoat so I decided to try it myself for the first time! :)

OH apparently I have to check the graph for amounts. Wa wa waaa. Try again. LOL

This Post Has Been Quality Verified By @steemthat Promotion Services. This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @pandorasbox.

For Doing Such A Great Job Let Me Give You A Free Membership To https://SteemThat.com

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Good job! Thanks to @phoenixwren you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14269.82. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87