Divergence - I feel like maybe we've turned a cornersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

When I look at the crypto market today, the word that pops into my head is divergence. To see what I mean, look at this screenshot of the top 17 cryptos from coinmarketcap.com (arrows added by me to further illustrate the point).

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.20.49 AM.png

Prior to the most recent crash, altcoins seemed to follow the lot of bitcoin; if bitcoin was up, most everything was up, and vice versa. The fact that some of the top cryptos are up and others are down, and in wildly varying amounts, gives me hope that we've reached a point where altcoins will no longer necessarily follow bitcoin's fate in lockstep. This divergence of altcoins from bitcoin tells me that the market is maturing, and that investors are becoming better informed about the details of the specific altcoins in which they choose to invest. These are all good things that will help to cement cryptocurrency's place in the global economy going forward.

Sort:  

Considering the value is measured in btc for altcoins... i kind of of disagree with you. If you look at the charts... they mostly follow the same paths.. yes, there are individual buy and sells within... but the are tired to btc.. so when btc goes high.. everything goes high. Same for lows.

I'm not sure I understand what you're saying. When I used to look at this information, it swung wildly up or down if BTC was swinging wildly up or down relative to USD. During the recent crash, it was all red relative to USD, during the bounceback over the past couple days, most everything was up by a % in the 20's. Now we're seeing ups and downs all over the place, both relative to BTC (which has always been the case), and USD (this is new). My point is that if the altcoins are following their own trajectories relative to fiat, it legitimizes them as not just being BTC or ETH derivatives.

oh.. what a men.. I have big lose

Hold. It will bounce back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13